University of Malta

The Faculty of Info. & Comm. Tech.
UOM Main Page
Campus Map button
Follow the Faculty...



Information and knowledge are crucial assets in the 21st century, underpinning the continuing revolution that is taking place in all major sectors of the modern economy, such as banking, education, health, finance, manufacturing and entertainment.

ICT stands for Information and Communications Technology, a spectrum of sub-disciplines that are unified by their concern with the definition, representation, communication and processing of information using computer and networking technologies. These technologies have a key role to play in the development of knowledge-critical assets that improve the ability of national and global infrastructures to collect and manage data, to provide services, to monitor performance and to plan effectively for the future. 

In 2007, the University of Malta, set up the Faculty of Information and Communication Technology, responsible for the areas of Informatics, Computer Science, Artificial Intelligence, Communications and Computer Engineering and of Microelectronics and Nanoelectronics. 

Five Departments presently make up the Faculty of Information and Communication Technology. Prof. Ernest Cachia is the current Dean of the Faculty, whilst Dr Ing. Nicholas Sammut is the Deputy Dean.


Faculty Office

Administrative Officer: Ms Stephanie Abood

Administrative Assistant: Mr Vincent Sammut

Executive Officer: Mr Christopher Bezzina

Executive Officer: Ms Elaine Grech





Faculty of ICT Timetables


ICT Timetables are available from HERE.

Academic Advisors 2015/6


Academic Advisors for ICT 1st year students (Intake 2015/6), NOW available

Public Lecture(s)


Lectures by CERN on Monday 25th April 2016 and Thursday 28th April 2016. More details from HERE. 

EuCARD-2 3rd Annual Meeting


EuCARD-2 3rd Annual Meeting between 26th and 28th of April 2016. More details from HERE.

The Computime Award for Completeness of Vision



An award for the best 10 Final Year Projects from the entire ICT faculty. More details from HERE. 

Workshop in ICT 2016


WICT is Back!! The one-day event will be taking place on the 8th of July 2016. More details available from HERE.

Last Updated: 9 October 2015

Log In back to UoM Homepage
University of Malta
L-Università ta' Malta