University of Malta

About Us
UOM Main Page
Google Apps for Education
Facebook TwitterFacebook


IT Services


The University of Malta's IT Services (formerly known as Computing Services Centre) was established in 1997. The primary role of IT Services is to proactively support the teaching, research and related (both current and projected future) activities of the University through coordinated, efficient and effective use of information and communication technologies.

Related Activities

IT Services manages the Maltese National Research & Education Network (NREN) providing access to the GÉANT network to local research & education institutions. GÉANT

NIC Logo

IT Services also provides operational support to NIC(Malta) which is responsible for the .MT top-level Internet domain for Malta.


TERENA Logo As an NREN, the University of Malta is a member of the Trans-European Research and Education Networking Association (TERENA) which aims to promote collaboration, innovation and sharing of knowledge in order to foster the development of Internet technology, infrastructure and services to be used by the research and education community.
UCISA IT Services is a member of the Universities and Colleges Information Systems Association (UCISA) and a member of EDUCAUSE, a nonprofit association and community of IT leaders and professionals, whose mission is to advance higher education through the use of information technology. EDUCAUSE

SCHOMS IT Services is also an associate member of the Standing Conference for Heads of Media Services (SCHOMS), a professional body for Senior Managers working within higher education in the design, development, delivery and support of existing and new learning environments and technologies.



IT Services is structured into three main service teams: User Services, Technical Services and Corporate Services.


IT Services Organisation Structure

Chief Information Officer (CIO) & Director: Robert Sultana
Deputy Director & Head of User Services: James Cilia
Head of Technical Services: Dave Mifsud
Head of Corporate Services: Michael Caruana


Technical Staff:

Senior IT Specialist II Mark Farrugia

Senior IT Systems Engineer I
Nicholas Aquilina
Leonella Camilleri
Uros Cvetkovic
Edmond Formosa
Daniel Muscat
Simon Portelli

Senior IT Officer I
Stefan Ancilleri
Jonathan Attard
Godfrey Monreal
Matthew Saliba
Sergio Scopazzi
Roderick Spiteri
Richard Tanti

Senior IT Specialist I Yanika Anne Busuttil

IT Systems Engineer
Dorian Borg
Tony Cini
Kim Fenech
Julian Gambin

IT Officer III
Raid A. Abood
Leander Borg
Patrick Catania
Richard Gatt
Nigel S. Mallett
James Mallia
Nathan Spiteri
David Vassallo

IT Specialist
Naomi Mifsud

IT Officer II
Nicholas Aquilina
Kurt Borg
Malcolm Borg Galea
Aaron Cacciattolo
Donald Cassar
Francesco Cini
Dario Dalli
Clinton DeDomenico
Dylan De Flavia
David Farrugia
Philip Farrugia
Ryan Fiorentino
Christon Gatt
Michal Kraus
Luke Lia
Matthew Portelli
Daniel Sammut
Nicolai Schembri

IT Officer I
Christian Attard
Nathaniel Micallef
Johnluke Saliba

Technical Officer II
John Balzan

TAS Apprentices
Nathaniel Borg


Administrative Staff:

Administrative Officer
Theresa Kuymizakis

Executive Officer
Jessica R. Borg
Rose Borg
Michelle Cauchi

Anisia Cachia

Anthony Attard
Roderick Sayeba

Last Updated: 18 August 2017

Log In back to UoM Homepage
University of Malta
L-Università ta' Malta