Science Dean's Awards The Dean's Awards for excellence in the Natural Sciences and Mathematics were initiated for the first time in 1994/1995. At this year's ceremony, the University Rector, Professor Roger Ellul-Micallef, presented twelve awards to students placing first, second and third in each of the four years of the B.Sc. (Hons) course during  academic year 2003/2004. In congratulating the students on their achievement, the Rector also mentioned the importance of increasing the number of graduates in science and technology  at the University and the Dean of the Faculty, Professor A.J. Vella thanked the Agenda Bookshop for sponsoring part of the event with book tokens for the students.

Year I
Xuereb Andre (Maths & Physics)
Xuereb Georgiana  (Maths & Statistics and OR )
Evans Julian (Chemistry & Biology)

Year II
Caruana Mark Anthony (Maths & Statistics and OR)
Farrugia Massimo (Maths & Physics)
Grech Antoine  (Maths & Physics)

Year  III
Duncan Andrew (Computer Science & AI  & Maths)
Gusman Roderick (Maths & Statistics and OR)
Sciberras Marija Joan (Chemistry & Biology)

Year IV
Buttigieg Sarah  (Maths & Statistics and OR)
Attard Nathalie (Maths & Statistics and OR)
Azzopardi Joel (Computer Science & AI & Physics)

The Faculty of Science comprises seven departments and  research is carried out in several fields. Particular areas of interest include marine biology, environmental chemistry, colloid science, molecular modelling, microwave applications, atmospheric physics, algebraic graph theory and combinatorics, systems analysis and design, multimedia authoring environments and statistical theory of non-stochastic processes.

26 April 2005