Faculty of Science Dean's Awards 2004/2005

The Dean’s Awards for excellence in the Natural Sciences and Mathematics were initiated for the first time in 1994/1995. At this year’s ceremony, the University Rector, Professor Roger Ellul-Micallef, presented twelve (12) awards to students placing first, second and third in each of the four years of the B.Sc. (Hons) course during academic year 2004/005 In congratulating the students on their achievement, the Dean, Prof A J Vella mentioned the importance of increasing the number of graduates in science and technology at the University and thanked HSBC Bank and Agenda Bookshop for sponsoring the event with book tokens for the students.

Year I
Elizabeth Aquilina (Maths and Physics)
Ingrid Dimech (Maths and Statistics & Operations Research)
Victoria Gatt (Maths and Physics)

Year II
Jean Pierre Brincat (Chemistry & Biology)
Julian Evans (Chemistry & Biology)
Andre Xuereb (Maths and Physics)

Year III
Mark Anthony Caruana (Maths and Statistics & Operations Research)
Massimo Farrugia (Maths and Physics)
Michael Portelli (Maths and Physics)

Year IV
Rachel Decelis (Chemistry and Biology)
Andrew Duncan (Computer Science & Artificial Intelligence and Maths)
Roderick Gusman (Maths and Statistics & Operations Research)

The Faculty of Science comprises seven departments and research is carried out in several fields. Particular areas of interest include marine biology, environmental chemistry, colloid science, molecular modelling, microwave applications, atmospheric physics, algebraic graph theory and combinatorics, systems analysis and design, multimedia authoring environments and statistical theory of non-stochastic processes.