Science Dean’s Awards The Dean’s Awards for excellence in the Natural Sciences and Mathematics were initiated for the first time in 1994/1995. At this year’s ceremony, the University Rector, Professor Juanito Camilleri, presented twelve (12) awards to students placing first, second and third in each of the four years of the B.Sc. (Hons) course during academic year 2005/006 In congratulating the students on their achievement, the Dean, Prof A J Vella mentioned the importance of increasing the number of graduates in science and technology at the University and thanked Agenda Bookshop for sponsoring the event with book tokens for the students.

First Year Students
Atanasov Atanas (Maths & Computer Science & A.I.)
Muscat Alison (Maths & Computer Science & A.I.)
Tua Alan (Maths & Physics)

Second Year Students
Aquilina Elizabeth (Maths & Physics)
D’Amato Kristian (Maths & Physics)
Fiorini Teresa (Chemistry & Biology)

Third Year Students
Evans Julian (Chemistry & Biology)
Xuereb Andre (Maths & Physics)
Xuereb Georgiana (Maths & Statistics and Operations Research)

Fourth Year Students
Caruana Mark Anthony (Maths & Statistics and Operations Research)
Farrugia Massimo (Maths & Physics)
Saliba Omar Sebastian (Chemistry & Biology)

The Faculty of Science comprises seven departments and research is carried out in several fields. Particular areas of interest include marine biology, environmental chemistry, colloid science, molecular modelling, microwave applications, atmospheric physics, algebraic graph theory and combinatorics, systems analysis and design, multimedia authoring environments and statistical theory of non-stochastic processes.