University of Malta

Committee Members
UOM Main Page
Campus Map button

University Research Ethics Committee

Prof Helen Grech - Chairperson

Prof Marie Therese Camilleri Podesta
Dr Anna McElhatton
Dr David Fabri
Prof Simone Galea
Mr Joseph Ebejer




Faculty of Arts

Prof. Claude Mangion (Chairperson)

Prof. Stella Borg-Barthet

Professor Mark Anthony Falzon

Dr Anna Khakee 

Dr Arndt Kremer

Ms Charlotte Cucciardi (Secretary)

Back to Top

Faculty for the Built Environment

Prof. Alex Torpiano (Chairperson)

Professor J. Cassar

Dr Paul Gauci

Back to Top

Faculty of Economics, Management and Accountancy

Dr Simon Grima (Chairperson) 

Dr Francis Debono

Dr Ian Cassar

Ms Brenda Vella (Secretary)

Faculty of Education

Professor Mary Darmanin - Chairperson

Dr Leonard Bezzina

Professor Christopher Bezzina

Rev. Dr Emanuel Magro

Dr Victor Martinelli

Professor Peter Mayo

Professor Kenneth Wain

Back to Top


Faculty of Engineering

Dr Zdenka Sant (Chairperson)

Mr Daniel Vella

Ing. Pierre Vella

Ms Vanessa Debattista (Secretary)

Faculty of Information and Communication Technology

Dr Mark Vella (Chairperson)

Mr Conrad Attard

Dr Joel Azzopardi

Dr Owen Casha

Dr Reuben Farrugia

Mr Marco Tabone (Secretary)


Faculty of Laws

Dr Austin Bencini (Chairperson)

Dr Daniel Bianchi 

Prof Frances Camilleri-Cassar 

Prof Raymond Mangion

Dr David Zammit 

Ms Nathalie Cauchi (Secretary)

Faculty of Medicine and Surgery

Dr Mario Vassallo (Chairperson)

Dr Bernard Coleiro

Prof Victor Ferrito

Dr Raymond Galea

Dr Raymond Gatt

Dr Karl German

Christianne Mizzi (Secretary) 


Faculty of Science

Prof. Irene Aquilina Sciriha (Chairperson) 

Prof. Patrick J. Schembri

Dr Noel Aquilina

Prof. Claude Farrugia

Ms Natalie Attard

Back to Top


Faculty for Social Wellbeing

Dr Nathalie Kenely (Chairperson)

Dott. Roberta Attard

Dr Christian Borg Xuereb 

Mr Trevor Calafato

Dr Joanne Cassar

Dr JosAnn Cutajar 

Dr Katya De Giovanni

Dr Kristina Vella 

Back to Top

Faculty of Theology

Dr Nadia Delicata (Chairperson)

Rev. Dr Stefan Attard

Rev. Dr Charlo Camilleri

Rev. Dr Ray Zammit

Ms Gillian Cachia (Secretary)


Institute of Linguistics

Dr Marie Alexander (Chairperson)

Dr Albert Gatt

Dr Natalie Schembri

Back to Top


Mediterranean Institute

Mgr George Mifsud Montanaro (Chairperson)

Prof. Paul Clough

Ms Maria Attard

Back to Top


Institute of Public Administration & Management

Prof. Godfrey Pirotta (Chairperson)

Ms Rebecca Gatt

Rev. Dr Charles Tabone

Mr Robert Micallef

Mr Mario Vassallo

Back to Top

The Edward DeBono Institute for the Design & Development of Thinking

Dr Sandra Dingli

Back to Top


Centre for Labour Studies

Dr Manwel Debono (Chairperson)

Ms Anna Borg

Mr Luke Fiorini

Back to Top


Euro-Mediterranean Centre for Educational Research

Prof. Kenneth Wain (Chairperson)

Prof. Ronald Sultana

Dr Carmel Cefai

Back to Top


Institute for European Studies

Dr Mark Harwood (Chairperson)

Prof. Roderick Pace 

Dr Susanna Thede 

Ms Anna Saliba (Secretary)

Back to Top


Institute of Earth Systems

Prof. Louis F. Cassar (Chairperson)

Dr Everaldo Attard

Dr Elisabeth Conrad

Prof. Paul J. Pace

Back to Top


Institute for Tourism, Travel & Culture

Ms Marie Avellino (Chairperson)

Mr Alfred Quintano

Prof. Edward Zammit

Back to Top


Institute of Maltese Studies

Prof. Henry Frendo (Chairperson)

Prof. Joseph M. Brincat

Prof. Carmen Depasquale

Back to Top


Guidelines for Proposals
Guidelines for students in the process of submitting a proposal have now been uploaded.
New Proposal Form
A new proposal form for students in Word format is now available for download.
Disability Research Ethics Guidelines
The Disability Research Ethics Guideline are available online.
UREC Calendar 2016-2017
The UREC Calendar of Meeting is now available.
Next Committee Meeting

The next meeting of the University Research Ethics Committee will be held on Friday 7th October at 1100hrs.


Log In back to UoM Homepage
University of Malta
L-Università ta' Malta