University of Malta

UOM Main Page
Campus Map button

The administrative set up of the University of Malta involves a number of academic and administrative and technical staff members who are appointed or elected to the various governing bodies of the University. The principal officers of the University are the Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellor, the Rector, the Pro-Rectors, the Registrar, the Deans of the Faculties as well as the Finance Officer and the Librarian. The main governing bodies are the Council, the Senate and the Faculty Boards.

Rector of the University
Professor Alfred J. Vella,
B.Sc.(Melit.), M.Sc.(Melit.), Ph.D.(Col.Sch.Mines.), CSci, CChem, FRSC

Chancellor of the University
Professor David Attard,
U.O.M., LL.D., D.Phil.(Oxon.)

As the supreme governing body of the University, the Council is responsible for the general administration of the University. Faculties group together departments concerned with a major area of knowledge, while institutes are of an interdisciplinary nature. The Council is also responsible for appointing new staff members, both local and foreign, to the various academic posts.

The Senate is largely responsible for the academic matters of the University primarily regulating studies, research, documentation and examinations at the University. The Senate also establishes the entry regulations.

The Faculty Board directs the academic tasks of the Faculty. The Board presents plans and proposals to the Senate and the Council. Besides, it determines the studies, teaching and research within the Faculty.

Last Updated: 21 November 2016

Log In back to UoM Homepage