University of Malta

Programme Validation Committee
UOM Main Page
eSIMS Login

The Programme Validation Committee (PVC) is a standing committee of Senate and has replaced the Senate Sub-Committee on Approval of Courses and Regulations.  The main functions of the PVC, which is composed of academic members of staff nominated for this purpose by the Rector, are as follows:

  • To provide quality assurance mechanisms acceptable to Senate and appropriate for internal and external audit purposes
  • To ensure that academic programmes are of appropriate standard
  • To ascertain the validity of the programmes on offer
  • To ensure optimal use of available resources

The PVC is assisted in its task by the Academic Programmes Quality and Resources Unit (APQRU) which also provides on-site and off-site assistance to departments and faculties, institutes, centres and schools with regard to validation procedures.

Current Membership of the Programme Validation Committee

The current members of the PVC are as follows:

  • Professor Alfred J. Vella (Rector) (Chairman)
  • Professor Joseph M. Cacciottolo (Pro-Rector) (Deputy Chairman)
  • Professor Kevin Aquilina 
  • Professor Marilyn Clark 
  • Professor Ing. Carl Debono
  • Professor Anthony Fenech
  • Professor Gloria Lauri-Lucente
  • Professor Paul Pace
  • Director of Finance (Mr Mark Debono) (or his delegate)
  • Registrar (Ms Veronica Grech)
  • Senate Student Representative (Ms Yasmine Ellul)


Click here to access the Schedule of Meetings for the Programme Validation Committee for 2019/2020.

Study-unit Feedback Report

A presentation on the study-unit feedback exercise for Academic Year 2015/16 & 2016/17 has been uploaded to our website.
End of Programme Survey Presentation

A presentation on the End of Programme Survey for Academic Years 2013/14 to 2016/17 has been uploaded on our website.

Last Updated: 16 September 2019

Log In back to UoM Homepage