University of Malta
 

Testimonials
UOM Main Page
 
 
 
Newspoint
Testimonials
Testimonials



"The 2017 Maltese Presidency of the Council of the EU successfully came to end on Friday 30th June 2017. Time has gone by so quickly, and I have no doubt that all involved will miss this EU Presidency 2017  experience.

It has been a great success throughout and the amount of praise we got from everyone was unbelievable. It was also highly acknowledged publicly by none other than the President of the Council of the EU Donald Tusk and the President of the EU Commission Jean Claude Junker. 

Many remarked that with the high standard achieved, it would be difficult for other Countries to organise a better EU Presidency then ours. This obviously was only possible with the help and professionalism of all involved in all sectors. 

It was with great pleasure and satisfaction to have worked together in organising the Conferences held during the past six months. Between January to June 2017,  everyone had put his/her utmost contribution in ensuring that all goes well. 

May I take this opportunity to thank you and all your team for all the effort and attention offered in coordinating each event on its own merit. Thank you once again for everything and look forward to work together in the not so long future."

Robert Lewis (Operations Manager - 2017 Maltese Presidency of the Council of the EU)



"An amazing venue, with a lot to offer to anyone wanting to host a professional and high-level event.  Extremely helpful staff who were there to support us in every step of the way in the run-up and on the actual day of the conference." Robert Napier - KSU Secretary General 2017



 "On behalf of the participants of the Trans-Domain COST Action TD1404 (NEOH), I would like to thank the University of Malta's Conference Unit for the excellent organisation of the workshop and 6th Management Committee Meeting. The participants had words of praise for the warm and enthusiastic hosting. I would also like to mention the highly professional web hosting of the event that was carried out by Ms Patricia Ellul Micallef.The team at the Unit is fully-organised and well-functioning and is ably led by Ms Lucienne Bugeja. The Valletta guided tour by Veronica Barbara was exceptional. After this experience, I feel more confident to offer to bring over to Malta meetings of COST Actions that I am involved in." Sandra C. Buttigieg - University of Malta



"The conference committee, the secretariat, and myself wholeheartedly thank the conference unit and all the University of Malta officials and staff for supporting a perfect SMTDA 2016 conference organization. We all have unforgettable memories and received warm thanks from the conference participants." Christos H. Skiadas - Conference Chair SMTDA 2016



"The University of Malta Valletta Campus hosted the third edition of Curatorial School for Valletta 2018 this year, and we were very satisfied with the welcome our guest speakers and our participants received on a daily basis. I was myself part of the event and proceedings; everything was well-prepared and the staff was always professional and efficient." Margerita Pulè - Programme Coordinator Valletta 2018 Foundation



"This year the University of Malta hosted the 3rd Offshore Energy and Storage Symposium, OSES2016, organised in collaboration with the Universities of Nottingham, Windsor, Edinburgh and Leeds.  The event was a great success, with over 100 participants coming from 18 different countries.  I am writing, as Chair of this event, to express my appreciation of the dedicated support offered by the team of the Conference Unit.  It has been a great pleasure working with this team at the Valletta Campus. The efficiency, professionalism and friendship offered was superb. I feel that they did an excellent job in ensuring a very positive experience to all participants. I truly hope that we can work together again on some other event in the near future."  Tonio Sant – University of Malta



"Over the course of this year, the EU Presidency Unit within the Parliamentary Secretariat for the EU Presidency 2017 and EU Funds has been holding a series of training courses, together with a foreign institution, for public officers as part of the country’s preparations for the Presidency of the Council of the European Union. With a convenient central location, competitive prices and offering a wide range of facilities, we decided to make use of the services of the Conference and Events Unit at the Old University of Malta in Valletta. From the time we started working through several dates and different set up requirements for each session, Lucienne Bugeja and her team - Veronica, Angelle, Godfrey, Rayvin and Charles - provided an excellent level of service throughout. Above all, we appreciated their friendly availability to provide assistance throughout the training sessions, both for us as well as for the foreign trainers, and whenever we needed technical or additional support in order to ensure that each session turned out successfully. We are also grateful for the professional and loyal manner in which they handled demanding participants and the efficient way in which they adapted to meet our requirements, sometimes even at short notice. We look forward to continue working with them over the coming months." Michelle Micallef - Parliamentary Secretariat for the EU Presidency 2017 and EU Funds



"I have had the occasion to work with our colleagues from the Conference Unit on several occasions. I will not dwell on their professionalism and efficiency, which is evident to all those who collaborated with them. The friendliness of the staff, the promptness with which queries were addressed and the effort to make organisers and participants feel welcome, however, deserve praise.

I recall several occasions in which staff members went out of their way to accommodate even the most difficult requests in order to make sure that the event being organised proceeds smoothly. Although this might have involved going beyond one's call of duties, these situations were dealt with seamlessly and in a cordial - even jovial - manner.  This transmits a sense of loyalty towards the Institution and one's pride in being of service to colleagues. And this is clearly perceived both by University staff, who organise events at the Valletta Campus, and by their guests." Sandro Caruana – University of Malta



"The University of Malta in collaboration with ASM organised a Symposium between the 22nd to the 24th of June 2016. This "4th Symposium on Surface Hardening of Corrosion Resistant Materials” held in Valletta was intended for international researchers and companies that are working or make use of hardened corrosion resistant materials. The symposium was attended by about 35 international researchers and end users.

The Conference Unit Team was excellent both before and during the conference. There were no glitches and I received no complaints from the participants. The Valletta Campus is a perfect site to hold a conference as it has all the necessary infrastructure to do so. I have only words of praise for this team and will be happy to organise future conferences at the Valletta Campus of the University of Malta." Joseph P Buhagiar – University of Malta



"From 25th to 29th January 2016, the department of Geosciences at University of Malta organized a training school on “Ground Penetrating Radar for Civil Engineering and Archaeology” in the framework of the COST Action TU1208 “Civil Engineering Applications of Ground Penetrating Radar”. The school targeted PhD students and early career scientists and it was attended by about 30 trainees. The Conference Unit Team gave a great logistical support in the organization of the daily activities as well as in providing all the necessary assistance throughout the entire event. The University’s conference support unit staff was highly efficient, professional and very well organized." Sebastiano D’Amico – University of Malta



"From 4 to 8 January 2015, the International Center for Ethics, Justice and Public Life of Brandeis University held the 2015 session of the Brandeis Institute for International Judges (BIIJ) in partnership with the University of Malta. The venue was the Valletta Campus, a setting that inspired the BIIJ participants by both its aesthetic qualities and rich historic associations. From the time that Brandeis started to work with the U of Malta conference team on the institute logistics in Summer 2014, through the end of the public event that marked the official closing of the institute, we could not have asked for more efficiency or responsiveness from our partners. Every detail was seen to with expert care, whether it was the set-up of the conference room, communication with the Hotel Excelsior, organization of meals and coffee breaks, preparation of badges and materials, or arrangements for a group outing to Mdina. Every request was met with graciousness and every problem was solved quickly. Brandeis has now organized 10 sessions of the BIIJ and rarely has the logistical side of the event carried with it so few concerns. We would recommend the Valletta Campus to any organization searching for a venue that is certain to be both memorable for participants and carefree for conveners." Leigh Swigart - Director of Programs in International Justice and Society



"On behalf of our participants, I would like to thank the University of Malta's Conference Unit for the perfect organisation of our COST BM1208 meeting „Working Group 1-Clinics: Preparation of Common tools for patient recording and consensus guidelines in Imprinting Disorders”. The great success of our meeting is particularly the result of the warm and enthusiastic hosting. Catering and social activities were excellent, the guided tour by Veronica Barbara in Mdina was exceptional. I´m sure that the team's professionalism and the friendly atmosphere is why we would always love to come back." Thomas Eggermann - Chair of the COST Action BM1208.



"The International Conference on Bilingualism which I convened in March 2015 at the Valletta campus was the first conference that was organized on such an important topic and on such a large scale.  This three-day conference was attended by a total of 195 delegates who came from 45 countries.

After the conference it was indeed a humbling experience for me to be inundated with letters of appreciation from delegates who were so impressed by the quality and quantity of both the plenary and parallel sessions and also by the sleek organization of the conference. 

Though many people were involved to ensure the conference’s resounding success, I really should like to thank the entire Conference Unit team but especially Ms Lucienne Bugeja who in a most professional way oversaw the smooth running of this conference. Indeed, I consider myself privileged to have worked with such energetic and hard-working professionals whose organizational skills are in my opinion, second to none." Lydia Sciriha - University of Malta



"I have convened a number of International Conferences over the past decade or so. I have to state that the Conference Unit has always been efficient and helpful. In my capacity as President of the International Association of University Professors of English (IAUPE)  I convened a Triennial Conference (in July 2010) at the Aula Magna of the Valletta Campus for a group of 198 participants, mostly distinguished academics from 28 countries all over the world. They were full of praise for the efficiency of the Conference Unit and their friendly disposition. In particular one of our keynote speakers, Professor John Carey (Oxford University), wrote a personal note to praise the competence and efficiency of the Conference Unit especially Ms Lucienne Bugeja who did an excellent job and who was so impressively efficient.

For my part I must say that it was always a pleasure to work with Ms Bugeja and her team." Peter Vassallo - University of Malta



"The Conference Unit of the University of Malta under the leadership of Ms Lucienne Bugeja was critical for the resounding successes achieved in the organisation of International Conferences and COST Action management meetings at the Excelsior Hotel, and also at the University of Malta’s Valletta Campus. The University’s conference support unit staff was highly efficient, professional and very well organised. Personal attention was given to events’ participants from registration, accommodation, information of and organisation of siteseeing tours." Rita Borg Xuereb - University of Malta



"Organising and hosting events at the University of Malta's Valletta Campus is indeed a guarantee for a memorable event.   Apart from the setting and the historic building, the staff, very ably led by Lucienne Bugeja, is truly a gem - thoroughly committed and dedicated to ensuring that every event is a resounding success where every attention to detail is provided in a highly courteous and professional manner." Valerie Sollars - University of Malta



"On behalf of the Local Organisation Committee of the SEAC (European Society for Astronomy in Culture) 2014 Annual Conference held at University Campus Valletta, we would like to thank Ms Lucienne Bugeja and her staff for an excellent implementation of our week long conference. The Old University Building is a perfect setting for conferences, meetings and other important events. I can highly recommend it to any group or organisation looking for modern facilities located in an historical building in the heart of Valletta." Tore Lomsdalen - Secretary to LOC SEAC 2014



"The Conference Unit of the University of Malta is an organisation with vast experience in organising all events involving the gathering of people. They have successfully organised many large conferences, sometimes concurrently, meetings, short courses, public talks and discussions, etc.

This Unit is very well organised, is highly efficient and expertly run by Lucienne Bugeja, with whom I have had the pleasure of working on various occasions. The highest attention to detail is given, irrespective of the event size and importance. Personal attention is given to event participants by the dedicated staff, from registration to transport and accommodation arrangements, everything is covered expertly." Charles V. Sammut - University of Malta 




"This is to thank you for the perfect organisation of the conference 'Mediterranean Under Quaratine'. Myself, with the other members of the International Quarantine Studies network and the participants have asked me to formally thank you and all your staff for all the preparations, enthusiastic hosting and assistance to us all.  We have all been impressed." John Chircop - University of Malta



"The Conference Unit is one of those setups where organisation is so well-oiled and faultless that the client is left with the impression that organising conferences and similar events is effortless. The hard work, the handling of bureaucracy in its many expressions, travel and hotel bookings, financial accounting, the dealing with difficult people, the management of last minute changes, are all taken care of, sparing the client the discouraging stress that used to be associated with event organisation. Headed by the lovely Lucienne, this totally professional one-stop shop has made the convening of conferences, symposia, workshops, public lectures and other events something to look forward to and enjoy, as the client is freed to concentrate on the nature and content of the event at hand. The Conference Unit has also been crucial in breathing life into the historic Valletta Campus, making of it a vibrant hub of local and international activity. Speaking for myself, I can only say that the efficiency, convenience and attractiveness of the Conference Unit accounts in no small way for the increased volume of public events that the Faculty of Arts and its many departments have been able to organise in recent years." Dominic Fenech - University of Malta




Calendar
 
 
Last Updated: 2 August 2016

Log In back to UoM Homepage
University of Malta
L-Università ta' Malta