Programme Description

Programme Description

University of Malta

Faculty of Economics, Management and Accountancy

Master of Science in Public Policy and Strategic Management

(for courses commencing October 2020)


In addition to the 60 ECTS credits assigned to the programme of study for the course, students who did not cover PPL3103 and PPL3108 during their undergraduate studies, shall be required to register for these supplementary study-units as indicated below:

In addition to the prescribed 60 ECTS credits for the year, students can apply to the Board to register for extra study-units. Please refer to the note at the end of the programme.

Semester 1

Compulsory Units (All students must register for this/these unit/s)

MGT5205 Service Design and Operations Strategy 5 ECTS
MGT5207 Strategic Management and Enterprising 5 ECTS
MGT5208 Cognitive Heuristics and Judgment​ ​in Managerial Decision Making 5 ECTS
MRK5811 Advanced Research Techniques 5 ECTS
PPL5008 Good Governance and Leadership 5 ECTS
PPL5105 Competitiveness and Innovation: Government and New Ideas 5 ECTS

Supplementary Unit

PPL3103 Policy Analysis 4 ECTS

Semester 2

Compulsory Units (All students must register for this/these unit/s)

MGT5202 Strategic Human Resources Management 5 ECTS
MGT5203 People Performance Metrics 5 ECTS
MGT5204 Management Science and Decision Analysis 5 ECTS
PPL5101 Strategy, Policy Implementation and Review 5 ECTS
PPL5111 Managing EU Policy 5 ECTS

Elective Units Elective units are offered subject to availability and time-table constraints.
Students are required to choose ONE elective study-unit from the following.

PPL5004 Political Economy 5 ECTS
PPL5113 Policy Management Seminar 5 ECTS

Supplementary Unit

PPL3108 Regulatory Policy and Institutions 4 ECTS


Semester 1

Compulsory Unit (All students must register for this/these unit/s)

PPL5009 Dissertation 30 ECTS

This programme of study is governed by the General Regulations for University Postgraduate Awards, 2008 and by the Bye-laws for the award of Master of Science - M.Sc. - under the auspices of the Faculty of Economics, Management and Accountancy.

Extra study-units cannot substitute compulsory, elective or optional study-units that form part of the official Senate-approved programme of studies, and do not count towards the Year Average Mark or towards the Final Weighted Average Mark.

Year 1

PPL5019* Dissertation Research Seminars– 4 ECTS

*PPL5019 will start in Semester 2 of Year 1 and continue up to the end of Year 2 Semester 1.

The conditions and criteria for Extra study-units can be accessed here.
Last Updated: 30 September 2020
The University makes every effort to ensure that the published Courses Plans, Programmes of Study and Study-Unit information are complete and up-to-date at the time of publication. The University reserves the right to make changes in case errors are detected after publication.
The availability of optional units may be subject to timetabling constraints.
Units not attracting a sufficient number of registrations may be withdrawn without notice.
Unless for exceptional approved reasons, no changes to the programme of study for a particular academic year will be made once the students' registration period for that academic year begins.