Programme Description

Programme Description

University of Malta

Institute for Sustainable Energy

Master of Science in Sustainable Energy
(M.Sc.(Melit.) Sust.Energy)

(for courses commencing February 2021)


Students are required to obtain a total of 90 ECTS credits over a period of 5 Semesters of part-time study.

In addition to the compulsory study-unit, students are required to choose study-units to the value of 5 ECTS credits from the elective study-units on offer during the year.

Semester 2 (February 2021 - June 2021)

Compulsory Units (All students must register for this/these unit/s)

ISE5080* Dissertation 80 ECTS
ISE5105 Research Methods for Scientists and Engineers 5 ECTS

* Work on the dissertation is expected to start in Semester 2 of academic year 2020/21 (February 2021) and continue up to the end of the course.

Semester 1 (October 2021 - January 2022)

Elective Units

ISE5101 Introduction to Sustainable Energy 5 ECTS
ISE5204 Energy Regulations, Policy and Economics 5 ECTS
ISE5208 Project Development 5 ECTS

This programme of study is governed by the General Regulations for University Postgraduate Awards, 2008 and by the Bye-Laws for the award of Master of Science in Sustainable Energy under the auspices of the Institute for Sustainable Energy.
Last Updated: 19 February 2021
The University makes every effort to ensure that the published Courses Plans, Programmes of Study and Study-Unit information are complete and up-to-date at the time of publication. The University reserves the right to make changes in case errors are detected after publication.
The availability of optional units may be subject to timetabling constraints.
Units not attracting a sufficient number of registrations may be withdrawn without notice.
Unless for exceptional approved reasons, no changes to the programme of study for a particular academic year will be made once the students' registration period for that academic year begins.