Programme Description

Programme Description

University of Malta

Faculty of Science

Master of Science in Statistics

(for courses commencing October 2020)


Important note: This sequence of study-units is a comprehensive list which includes topics regularly registered by the Department of Statistics and Operations Research with university authorities for POSSIBLE use by postgraduate students as part of their courses. The selection of study-units for such purposes has to be done in conformity with departmental policies and through advice, consultation and approval by the relevant authorities.

Students are required to register for study-units equivalent to 30 ECTS credits and a 60 ECTS credit dissertation to a total of 90 ECTS credits.

Year (This/these unit/s start/s in Semester 1 and continue/s in Semester 2)

Elective Units Elective units are offered subject to availability and time-table constraints.

SOR5122 Stochastic Processes 3 10 ECTS
SOR5211 Multivariate Analysis 2 10 ECTS
SOR5221 Sampling 2 10 ECTS
SOR5242 Time Series 3 10 ECTS
SOR5262 Structural Equation Modeling 10 ECTS
SOR5263 Latent Variables: Measurement and Analysis 10 ECTS
SOR5272 Generalized Latent Variable Modeling 10 ECTS
SOR5273 Multi-Level Models 10 ECTS
SOR5291 Topics in Statistical Learning 10 ECTS
SOR5312 Stochastic Programming 2 10 ECTS
SOR5411 Topics in Risk Theory 10 ECTS
SOR5511 Topics in Numerical Analysis 10 ECTS
SOR5521 Topics in Topological Vector Spaces and Functional Analysis 10 ECTS
SOR5501 Computationally Intensive Methods 10 ECTS
SOR5322 Topics in Stochastic Optimal Control 10 ECTS

Semester 1

Compulsory Unit


SOR5100* Dissertation in Statistics and Operations Research - Probability 60 ECTS


SOR5200* Dissertation in Statistics and Operations Research - Statistics 60 ECTS


SOR5300* Dissertation in Statistics and Operations Research - Operations Research 60 ECTS


SOR5400* Dissertation in Statistics and Operations Research - Financial and Actuarial Mathematics 60 ECTS

* Work on the Dissertation is expected to start in Semester 1 of academic year 2020/21 (October 2020) and continue up to the end of Semester 3 of academic year 2020/21 (September 2021).

This programme of study is governed by the General Regulations for University Postgraduate Awards, 2008 and by the Bye-Laws for the degree of the Master of Science - M.Sc. - under the auspices of the Faculty of Science.
Last Updated: 25 May 2020
The University makes every effort to ensure that the published Courses Plans, Programmes of Study and Study-Unit information are complete and up-to-date at the time of publication. The University reserves the right to make changes in case errors are detected after publication.
The availability of optional units may be subject to timetabling constraints.
Units not attracting a sufficient number of registrations may be withdrawn without notice.
Unless for exceptional approved reasons, no changes to the programme of study for a particular academic year will be made once the students' registration period for that academic year begins.