Programme Description

Programme Description

University of Malta

Institute of Earth Systems

Preparatory Course for Diploma in Agriculture

(for courses commencing October 2019)


Semester 1

Compulsory Units (All students must register for this/these unit/s)

AGR0200 Principles of Agricultural Chemistry 6 ECTS (NC)
AGR0290 Laboratory Techniques in Agricultural Chemistry 6 ECTS (NC)
AGR0100 Agricultural Systematics 6 ECTS (NC)
AGR0150 Introduction to Agricultural Biotechnology 6 ECTS (NC)
AGR0070 Communication Technology and Skills 6 ECTS

Semester 2

Compulsory Units (All students must register for this/these unit/s)

AGR0210 Agricultural Biochemistry 6 ECTS (NC)
AGR0500 Anatomy and Physiology of Crops 6 ECTS (NC)
AGR0600 Anatomy and Physiology of Farm Animals 6 ECTS (NC)
AGR0400 Extension Service and Rural Society 6 ECTS
AGR1150 Applied Agricultural Biotechnology 6 ECTS

Students who successfully complete the one-year preparatory programme will progress to the Diploma in Agriculture.

Requirements for regular progression to the Diploma in Agriculture: 60 credits

Notes: NC = Non Compensatable
Last Updated: 11 September 2019
The University makes every effort to ensure that the published Courses Plans, Programmes of Study and Study-Unit information are complete and up-to-date at the time of publication. The University reserves the right to make changes in case errors are detected after publication.
The availability of optional units may be subject to timetabling constraints.
Units not attracting a sufficient number of registrations may be withdrawn without notice.
Unless for exceptional approved reasons, no changes to the programme of study for a particular academic year will be made once the students' registration period for that academic year begins.