Doctoral Committee Chairs

Faculties | InstitutesCentresSchool


Faculty of Arts
Prof. Mark Anthony Falzon

Faculty for the Built Environment
Faculty of Dental Surgery   
Faculty of Economics, Management and Accountancy
Prof. Vincent Cassar

Faculty of Education
Faculty of Engineering   

Faculty of Health Sciences
Dr Stephen Lungaro Mifsud
Faculty of Information and Communication Technology
Prof. Johann A Briffa
Faculty of Laws
Dr Ivan Mifsud
Faculty of Media and Knowledge Sciences
Prof. Ian Thornton
Faculty of Medicine and Surgery   
Faculty of Science
Prof. Patrick J Schembri

Faculty for Social Wellbeing
Prof. Andrew Azzopardi

Faculty of Theology 
Rev. Dr Stefan Attard  


Institute of Aerospace Technologies
Prof. Ing. David Zammit Mangion

International Institute for Baroque Studies

Prof. Denis De Lucca 

Institute for Climate Change and Sustainable Development
Prof. Maria Attard

Institute of Digital Games
Dr Antonios Liapis
Institute of Earth Systems   
Prof. Louis Francis Cassar

The Edward de Bono Institute for Creative Thinking and Innovation

Dr Leonie Baldacchino
Institute for European Studies
Dr Mark Harwood

Islands and Small States Institute
Dr Stefano Moncada

Institute of Linguistics and Language Technology
Dr Stavros Assimakopoulos
Institute of Maltese Studies
Prof. Carmel Cassar

Mediterranean Institute
Prof. Jean-Paul Baldacchino
Institute of Space Science and Astronomy

Prof. Kristian Zarb Adami
Institute for Sustainable Energy
Prof. Emmanuel Sinagra
Institute for Tourism, Travel and Culture
Dr Marie Avellino


Centre for Biomedical Cybernetics
Prof. Ing. Kenneth P. Camilleri

Centre for English Language Proficiency
Dr Odette Vassallo
Centre for Resilience and Socio-Emotional Health
Prof. Carmel Cefai
Euro-Mediterranean Centre for Educational Research
Prof. Ronald Sultana

Centre for Molecular Medicine and Biobanking
Prof. Charles Sammut 
Centre for the Study and Practice of Conflict Resolution
Prof. Alfred J. Vella 

Centre for Environmental Education and Research
Prof. Joseph Cacciottolo   


School of Performing Arts
Dr Stefan Aquilina