The University of Malta

The University of Malta is the highest teaching institution in Malta. It is publicly funded and is open to all those who have the requisite qualifications. Conscious of its public role, the University strives to provide relevant and timely courses that are able to meet the needs of the country.

The supreme governing bodies of the University are the Council and the Senate. Over the past few years, the University has reviewed its structures in order to be in line with the Bologna Process and the European Higher Education Area.

The student population consists of local and international students from 80 different countries. These follow full-time or part-time degree and diploma courses that run on the modular or credit system. The University regularly hosts a large number of Erasmus and other exchange students. 


The Valletta Campus and International Collaborative Programmes

Although the main campus is situated at Msida, the University of Malta has two other satellite campuses in Valletta and Gozo. The Valletta campus is housed in the Old University Building that dates back to the founding of the Collegium Melitense 1592. Today, the Valletta Campus serves as a prestigious setting for the hosting of international conferences, seminars, short courses and summer schools. It is also the venue of the University's International Collaborative Programmes (ICP). 


Masters' Degree Programmes

The ICP offers, one year, three semesters, International Masters Programmes on a double degree or collaborative basis. These programmes seek to achieve a wide exchange of cultural viewpoints, networks and experiences that provide students with global perspectives. The Masters degrees that form part of the ICP are accredited by the University of Malta and in case of  dual degrees also by participating university or universities. 



International Short Courses

International short courses consist of both accredited and non-accredited courses that are offered throughout the academic year in conjunction with the sponsoring Faculties, Centres or Institutes of the University of Malta. Duration varies according to the particular focus of the course. During the summer season ICP organises a number of summer schools designed for the general public and others that are intended for professionals. These intensive summer schools and each dedicated to a single area of studies and can be of an undergraduate or graduate level. All summer schools held at the Valletta Campus.


Study-Abroad Programmes

The International Collaborative Programmes (ICP) also provides support to overseas Universities in the organisation of their study-abroad programmes at the University of Malta.  The ICP unit offers multiple services including: academic, logistical, accommodation and the organisation of cultural and social activities. 

The ICP regularly hosts a number of overseas intuitions that make use of the historic Valletta campus as well as other facilities available at the main campus in Msida. The regular institutions hosted include: James Madison University, Tusculum College, South Texas College of Law, Luther College, St. John University and Australians Studying Abroad.

University of Malta, Valletta Campus
St Paul Street VLT 1216
Tel: +356 2340 7501/2
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Accessibility Policy | © University of Malta, All Rights Reserved.
Reproduction/Copying in whole or part is strictly prohibited.