Curriculum Design and Updating for Clinical Pharmacy Teaching

Thirty five participants from eleven countries followed a workshop organised by the Department of Pharmacy of the University of Malta in collaboration with the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) and the European Association of Faculties of Pharmacy (EAFP) was held at the University Valletta Campus recently.


Curriculum Design and Updating for Clinical Pharmacy Teaching


left to right: Dr Michael Rouse, Professor Janet P. Engle, Pro Rector Professor Tanya Sammut-Bonnici, the Hon. Dr Deo Debattista, Professor Lilian M. Azzopardi, Dr John Ressler, Professor Anthony Serracino-Inglott, Professor Joseph T. Dipiro.

photo credit: DOI

 The aim of the course was to provide participants with an insight into aspects of curriculum design, methods of teaching and assessment, and incorporation of hands-on experience in teaching using a team-based approach. The course was also intended to stimulate the development of a network of clinical pharmacy educators. It presented principles of curricular re-design, delivery and assessment. Examples from experiences of the faculty from the USA and the Department of Pharmacy of the University of Malta in introducing innovative methods of teaching of clinical pharmacy were drawn. The workshop served to guide educators and pharmacists involved in the development of training programs on reflecting on curriculum evaluation, re-design, delivery and assessment.

During the opening session, Dr Michael Rouse, Director International Services of ACPE reflected upon the collaboration with the Department of Pharmacy of the University of Malta. The Department of Pharmacy is a leader of change in moving towards patient-centred curricula and in developing models of teaching. This was a reason for undertaking the first workshop in Malta, merging USA and European pharmacy education experiences.

Speakers and moderators of the sessions were Professor Joseph T. Dipiro, Dean and Archie O. McCalley Chair at the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy in Richmond, Virginia, USA, Professor Janet P. Engle, Head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Education at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy, USA, Dr Michael J Rouse from ACPE and Dr John C Ressler from AACP, Professor Lilian M. Azzopardi, Head of the Department of Pharmacy and President of the EAFP, Professor Anthony Serracino-Inglott, Professor of Pharmacy at the Department, Dr Louise Grech, Clinical Pharmacist at Mater Dei Hospital and Lecturer at the Department of Pharmacy, Dr Maresca Attard Pizzuto, Dr Nicolette Sammut Bartolo and Dr Francesca Wirth, Lecturers at the Department of Pharmacy, and Marise Gauci, Clinical Pharmacist at Karin Grech Hospital and Assistant Lecturer at the Department of Pharmacy.

University of Malta, Valletta Campus
St Paul Street VLT 1216
Tel: +356 2340 7501/2
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Accessibility Policy | © University of Malta, All Rights Reserved.
Reproduction/Copying in whole or part is strictly prohibited.