University of Malta

UOM Main Page
Apply - Admissions 2016
Campus Map button


Department of Communications and Computer Engineering


This department specialises in the areas of

Signal Processing, Communications, Computer Systems.


Head of Department: Prof. Ing. Carl J. Debono                               Clerk: Mr Mark Anthony Xuereb



Department of Computer Information Systems


This department specialises in the areas of

e-Business, Enterprise Computing, Data Management, Data Mining, Database Technology and Miscellaneous Information Systems.


Head of Department: Prof. Ernest Cachia                                   

Administrative Assistant: Ms Shirley Borg 

Clerk: Ms Lilian Ali 



Department of Computer Science


This department specialises in the areas of

Formal Methods; Software Engineering; Operating Systems; High Performance Computing; Grid Technologies; Programming Languages; Security Computing Theory; System Testing; Graphics; Numerical Computing, HCI.


Head of Department: Dr Kevin Vella                                                        Clerk: Mr Kevin Cortis 



Department of Artificial Intelligence 


This department specialises in the areas of

Machine Learning, Search, Adaptive Systems, Decision Support Systems, Human Language Technology, Agent Technology, Semantic Web, eLearning, Bioinformatics.


Head of Department: Prof. Alexiei Dingli                                 Administrative Assistant: Ms Francelle Scicluna




Department of Microelectronics and Nanoelectronics


This department specialises in the areas of

Microelectronics and Nanoelectronics, IC Design, Embedded Systems, Miniaturised Sensors, System-in-Package or System-on-Chip.


Head of Department: Prof. Ing. Edward Gatt                                             Executive Officer: Mr Keith Cauchi





Faculty of ICT Timetables


ICT Timetables are available from Here.

Health and Safety Regulations for Labs Form

The Faculty of ICT Health and Safety Regulations for Laboratories form can be found here


Study-unit Registration Forms 2018/9


For Undergraduate (Day) and Postgraduate students.


DLT Scholarships


The Centre for Distributed Ledger Technologies (CDLT) at the University of Malta (“University” or “UM”) is seeking to attract students through a scholarship scheme kindly made available by the Malta Information Technology Agency (“MITA”). For more information click HERE.

EY’s Malta Attractiveness Event 2018


EY’s annual Malta Attractiveness (MAS) investment forum will be held on 24th October. For more information please click HERE

Engineering Profession Board Guidelines

The Engineering Profession Board Guidelines can be found here

Last Updated: 7 September 2017

Log In back to UoM Homepage