University of Malta

IES Statute and Boards
UOM Main Page
Apply - Admissions 2016
Campus Map button

Board of the Institute of Earth Systems

According to its statute, the Institute of Earth Systems is governed by a Board which meets regularly to discuss the Institute's affairs, to formulate the policy of the Institute, and to supervise its activities and administration.

This Board consists of members of the academic staff, both from within the Institute and from other University departments, as well as up to two elected representatives of the Institute's students. The current composition of the IES Board is as follows:

Prof Godfrey Baldacchino 

Director of the Institute, and Coordinator of the Division of Environmental Management and Planning
Prof Louis F Cassar

Coordinator of the Division of Rural Sciences and Food Systems
Prof Everaldo Attard

Head of the Euro-Mediterranean Centre on Insular Coastal Dynamics (ICoD)
Prof Anton Micallef

Council Appointee
Mr Anthony Zammit

Senate Appointee
Dr Ing. John Charles Betts    

Academic Staff Representatives
Dr Charles Galdies, Dr Anthony Sacco 

Scholars of Repute
Prof Albert Caruana, Prof Alex Felice, Prof Paul J Pace, Prof Frank Ventura

Student Representatives
Mr John Montebello, Mr Nathan Grech

The Board meeting dates for the current academic year 2017/2018 are as follows:

Monday 18 December 2017,
Tuesday 10 April 2018,
Tuesday 26 June 2018, and
Thursday 27 September 2018.

The Institute also has a Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) composed of scholars of repute appointed by the Board. SAC members are drawn from the scientific community both locally and abroad, and play an advisory role, in that they may be consulted from time to time on matters pertaining to their areas of competence. The SAC is currently composed of the following members:

  • Dr Leonard Mizzi BA (Hons) (Malta), MSc (CIHEAMMontpellier), PhD (Reading) is Head of Unit R4, dealing with inter-institutional issues, within the Directorate-General for Agriculture & Rural Development of the European Commission. Before joining the European Commission, he was the Director of the Malta Business Bureau (MBB) in Brussels. Dr Mizzi is an agricultural economist with interests in agriculture and food security, food and nutrition policy, and the agrifood sector.
  • Prof Stephen Morse BSc, MSc, PhD (Reading), PhD (Southampton) holds the Chair in Systems Analysis for Sustainability at the Centre for Environmental Strategy at the University of Surrey. He has a background in applied biological science, and has broad research and teaching interests spanning both the natural and social sciences.
  • Prof Allan T Williams BSc, PhD, Dip Ed, C Eng, C Sci, MIMMM is Emeritus Professor at Swansea Metropolitan University and Senior Research Fellow at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David (UWTSD). His research interests include geology and geomorphology, with a special interest in coastal processes and beach management.

Boards of Studies

A Board of Studies is appointed by Senate for each of the courses run by the Institute.

International Master of Science in Environmental Management and Sustainability

The MSc (EMS) is an International Master's degree of the University, and is a double degree programme taught in collaboration with James Madison University (JMU), Virginia, USA.

Co-Chairs: Prof Robert Kolvoord (JMU), Prof Joseph M Cacciottolo (UM)

JMU Program Director: Prof Maria Papadakis

UM Course Coordinator: Dr Elisabeth Conrad

Members: Prof Louis F Cassar, Prof Jonathan Miles

Student Representatives:  Mr Daniel Owoc, Ms Melissa Rusinek


Master of Science (by research)

Chairperson: Prof Louis F Cassar 

Course Coordinator: Dr Charles Galdies 

Members: Prof Everaldo Attard, Prof Godfrey Baldacchino, Dr Elisabeth Conrad

Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Earth Systems

Chairperson: Prof Louis F Cassar 

Course Coordinator: Dr Belinda Gambin

Members: Prof Godfrey Baldacchino, Dr Elisabeth Conrad

Student Representatives: Ms Julia Bonello Boissevain, Ms Stephanie Saliba 


Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Mediterranean Agro-Ecosystems Management 

Chairperson/Course Coordinator: Prof Everaldo Attard  

Members: Dr George Attard, Dr Mauro Buttigieg, Prof Louis F Cassar, Mr Tony Meli, Dr David Mifsud, Dr Anthony Sacco  

Diploma in Agriculture  

Chairperson: Prof Everaldo Attard   

Course Coordinator: Dr Anthony Sacco  

Members: Dr George Attard, Dr Mauro Buttigieg, Mr Tony Meli, Dr David Mifsud

January 2018 Examination Session

Session venues now available

Lecture timetables for February to June 2018

Draft timetables for the Institute's courses

In the News!

Spotlight on events, research findings and outreach activities

Election results

Student representatives elected to Boards of Studies

IES Student Handbook

September 2017 edition now available for download

Academic Calendar 2017/2018

Calendar of important dates for the forthcoming academic year

Last Updated: 6 November 2017

Log In back to UoM Homepage