University of Malta

UOM Main Page
Apply - Admissions 2016
Campus Map button

Members on the Board

Professor Charles V Sammut (Chairman)

Applied Electromagnetics and Aspects of Climate Change

Professor Kristian Zarb Adami (Director)

Radio Astronomy - Experimental Cosmology - Bayesian Data Analysis - CMOS Design

Dr Ing. Andrew Sammut

System Design and Assessment

Dr John Abela

A.I. - Machine Learning - Pattern Recognition - Vision - Optimization - Game Playing 

Dr Sandro Lafranco

Vegetation Ecology, Fresh Water Ecology and Ecological Field Techniques

Dr Alessio Magro

High Performance / Heterogeneous Computing - Signal Processing - Artificial Intelligence - Radio Astronomy 

Dr Jackson Levi Said

Theories of Gravity - Compact Stars - Cosmology 

Ms Josanne Ghirxi


Student Representative

Ms Deandra Cutajar 


Scholars of Repute 

Dr Joseph Caruana


Dr Victor Debattista

Formation and Evolution of Galaxies 



Dr Alessio Magro

High Performance / Heterogeneous Computing - Signal Processing - Artificial Intelligence - Radio Astronomy

Dr Andrea De Marco

A.I. - Machine Learning - Software Engineering - Audio and Signal Processing - Big Data 

Dr Jackson Levi Said

Theories of Gravity - Compact Stars - Cosmology

Dr Ing Owen Casha

RF Integrated Circuit Design and Modelling 


Affiliate Staff

Professor Anthony K. Brown (University of Manchester)

Professor Andrew Faulkner (University of Cambridge) 

Professor Justin L. Jonas (Rhodes University)

Professor Lance Miller (University of Oxford) 

Professor Micheal A. Garret (ASTRON) 

Professor Paul Alexander (University of Cambridge)

Professor Pedro Ferreira (University of Oxford)

Professor Philip Diamond (University of Manchester)

Professor Pratika Dayal  (University of Groningen)

Dr Jan-Geralt Bij de Vaate (ASTRON)

Dr Ian Fenech Conti (Industry) 


Postgraduate Students collaborating with the Institute

Mr Adam Gauci

A.I. - Machine Learning - Pattern recognition - Information Theory - Signal processing - Astrophysics 

Mr Daniel Muscat

Implementation of CLEAN Algorithms 

Mr Gabriel Farrugia 

Alternative Theories of Gravity – Cosmology – Anisotropies in the CMB – Dark Matter and Dark Energy 

Denis Cutajar

Radio Astronomy, Signal Processing, Machine Learning, Astrodynamics

Mr Josef Borg 

Radio Astronomy, Astrobiology and Astrochemistry

Mr Andrew Finch 

Numerical Relativity and Alternative Theories of Gravity

Andreas Alamanos

Radio Astronomy, Astroinformatics 

Mr Filippos Nachmias 

Compact Stars, Alternative Theories of Gravity

Mr Karl Fiteni

Galaxy Evolution 


Administrative Staff

Mr Robert Grech


You may also contact the institute by email 

Members of ISSA join the KiDS Consortium
Members of ISSA, in collaboration with the Department of Physics, has recently joined the KiDS Consortium
University of Malta Awarded Title: 'CUDA Research Center'
The Institute of Space Science and Astronomy (ISSA), in collaboration with the University of Malta’s Department of Physics and the Faculty of Information and Communications Technology, announces that the University of Malta has been awarded the title of 'CUDA Research Center' by NVIDIA.
Last Updated: 21 May 2018

Log In back to UoM Homepage