University of Malta
 

UM Single Sign-On
UOM Main Page
 
 
 
Newspoint
IT Services Student Guide
Facebook Twitter Facebook_Button Twitter_Button




Introduction

The University of Malta Single Sign-On (SSO) enables staff and students to access different UM services (e.g. Webmail, eSIMS, AIMS, VLE, eJournals etc.) by signing in once using their UM IT username and password.

Once signed in, users will not be prompted to retype their username and password again to access other UM services during the same browser session. Similarly, signing out from one UM service will automatically stop access to other UM services.

The UM SSO also provides access to notifications/alerts from the various UM information systems, as explained further below.

In case you need any additional information, kindly consult with our SSO FAQs found here



Signing In

Staff, students and alumni with a UM IT Account can access UM services as follows:
  1. Click Sign In at the top-right corner of any UM web page. The UM SSO screen will be displayed: https://accounts.um.edu.mt/sign-in/
  2. Enter your UM IT Account username and password.
  3. Click Sign In button. Your name and surname and any notifications will be displayed at the top-right of the screen (read further down).
  4. You can then access UM services via the Quicklinks drop down menu (at the top-right of any UM web page).


Alternatively, you can sign in by accessing a UM service directly. For example, you sign in through the Webmail page and then you can switch to other UM services without retyping your username and password.

Note that:

  • Before entering your UM username and password in any screen, you should routinely check that the web address of the page displayed in the browser begins with https://accounts.um.edu.mt/

    For example, you may receive an email prompting you to follow the link https://accounts.um.edu.mt. When you follow this link you will be automatically directed to a page with a different address. Confirming that the web page begins with https://accounts.um.edu.mt/ will minimise the risk of entering your UM IT Account details in fake screens mimicking the UM SSO sign in page. This is especially important when you are accessing services not from previously used and certified browser bookmarks.

    Never enter your UM IT Account details in any web page other than those beginning with https://accounts.um.edu.mt/.


  • After signing in, you will be able to access the UM services that you have permission to use.
  • When you sign in, your name and surname will be displayed at the top-right of the screen.

Normal Account


  • If you have more than one type of UM IT Account (for example, you are both staff and a student of the University), the type of account is shown next to your name. In the case of a role account, only the name of the account is displayed.

Student UM IT Account (A user having both Staff & Student UM IT Account and is signed in as a student)

Student Account


Staff UM IT Account (A user having both Staff & Student UM IT Account and is signed in as a staff member)

Staff Account


Alumni UM IT Account (A user having both Staff & Alumni UM IT Account and is signed in as an alumnus)

Alumni Account


Role UM IT Account

Role Account

 

  • If you have more than one UM IT Account, you may need to switch between accounts to be able to access some UM services. To do so, you will need to sign out from one account, and sign in with the username and password of the other account.


Signing Out

Staff and students with a UM IT Account can sign out by clicking Sign Out next to their name at the top-right corner of any UM webpage.

Note that:

  • Signing out of one UM service will automatically sign you out from all UM services accessed during the browser session.
  • It is of utmost importance that you sign out when you are done using UM services, particularly if you are using a shared computer which is not set up with different computer accounts for different users. If you don't sign out or lock your user account on that computer, subsequent users of the computer may have total access to the UM services that you have permission to use.
  • Closing your web browser (e.g. Google Chrome) DOES NOT necessarily sign you out of the UM services. Other persons using your computer may have total access to these when they re-open the browser.


Notification Area

After signing in, the top-right corner of UM web page may display new notifications/alerts below your name and surname. This section of the webpage is referred to as the notification area. This area helps you keep up to date with new notifications related to the UM services that you have access to. These may include:
  • unread emails
  • unread eSIMS in-tray messages
  • Library: due/overdue books
  • pending tasks in AIMS (for staff).
Notification Area

Each alert is identified by a specific icon which represents a particular service. The figure next to the icon indicates the number of notifications for that particular service. Clicking the icon will give you automatic access to the service. When you access the updated service, the icon is automatically removed from the notification area.


Emails

Email
This icon will be displayed if you have received a new email message on your University address and you have not read it yet.


eSIMS In-Tray Messages

eSIMS This icon will be displayed when you receive a new message in the eSIMS In-Tray.


Library Books

Library
This icon alerts you to return a borrowed book to the Library.


AIMS Tasks

AIMS This icon alerts staff of any pending tasks on AIMS, such as pending approval of requisition.


Other alerts will be included in the notification area in the future.


Calendar
 
 
Last Updated: 22 September 2017

Log In back to UoM Homepage