Faculty of Health Sciences Community home page Statistics

The Faculty of Health Sciences was awarded faculty status in August 2010. Before then, it was the Institute of Health Care, a University Institute which was set up in 1987, for the education and training of Health Care professionals. Today, there are 11 departments within the faculty, each offering a degree programme leading to a health care profession. These departments are: Applied Biomedical Science, Communication Therapy, Food Studies and Environmental Health, Health Services Management, Medical Physics, Midwifery, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy, Podiatry and Radiography. All departments have active research programmes in various specialisations, and some offer M.Sc. and Ph.D. programmes. Postgraduate diplomas are offered by some departments. The Faculty is also responsible for the running of Continuing Professional Development courses for registered practitioners, ensuring that health professionals are kept abreast of the continuing advances in the medical field and related technologies.