University of Malta

News on Campus
Dean of ICT Awards
UOM Main Page
Campus Map button

This is the first occasion of The Dean’s Awards for excellence in the field of ICT at the University of Malta, although the Faculty of ICT hopes to establish the event on a regular basis. At this year’s ceremony, the Dean of the Faculty, Dr Ernest Cachia, presented awards to fifteen students placing first, second and third in each of the various B.Sc. (Hons) ICT undergraduate day and evening courses offered during academic year 2007/2008. Students who made the Dean’s List this year were awarded certificates, book tokens and software licences.

The event was attended by all the Heads of Departments and Course Co-ordinators within the Faculty of ICT, all the Administrative complement, and University officials, including Dr Mary Anne Lauri, Pro-Rector for Student and Institutional Affairs, Prof. Richard Muscat, Pro-Rector for Research and Innovation, Ms. Veronica Grech, the University of Malta Registrar, and Prof. Charles V. Sammut, Dean of the Faculty of Science. In congratulating the students for their achievements, Dr Cachia expressed his satisfaction for the effort shown by the students and wished them further success and fulfilment in their studies. Dr Cachia also thanked all present for showing their support to this initiative.

Dr Cachia noted that 2008 marked the second year of the Faculty of ICT. Although a young Faculty, it had established itself in all aspects of its work – from course management to research output. The fact that a Dean’s List Awards event was being organised, bore witness to the Faculty’s stability and the maturity of its students, he said. Dr Cachia also mentioned the support and the trust being received by the Faculty, particularly through the joint EU-Malta funding of a new state-of-the-art Faculty building currently being constructed on Campus. This is the biggest ERDF project within University, amounting to approximately 17 million Euro. Dr Cachia also emphasized that quality, relevance and professionalism were a cornerstone of the new Faculty, and that highly qualified, diligent, and considerate staff, both academic and administrative, undoubtedly lie at the root of this. Dr Cachia thanked all those involved in making the event a success.

The event was sponsored by Ascent Software, Catalogue Solutions, Exigy, and Ixaris. Agenda Bookshop provided the book tokens at a special price. Dr Cachia thanked these organisations for their valuable support.

Dean's List
Academic Year 2007/2008

B.Sc. (Hons) ICT
First Year Students

Gatt Brian
Scicluna Dorielle
Zarb Terence

B.Sc.IT (Hons)
Second Year Students

Camilleri John J.
Cassar John
Demicoli Darren

B.Sc.IT (Hons)
Third Year Students

Bondin Ingram
Falzon Kevin
Vassallo Elaine
B.Sc IT (Hons)
Fourth Year Students

Bonavia Emanuel
Fenech Karl
Micallef Luana

B.Sc (Hons) ICT
YEAR 3 (evening course)

Caruana Roderick
Gatt Tyrone
Pace Albert

Dean of ICT Awards
Dr Ernest Cachia, Dean Faculty of ICT, addressing the award winners


Log In back to UoM Homepage