University of Malta

UOM Main Page
Apply - Admissions 2016

The Department of Chemistry was re-established in 1987 as part of the Faculty of Science and comprised of 4 full-time members of academic staff. Originally the Department offered coursework which lead to a 3 year joint ordinary degree in two science subjects and also serviced other faculties notably in disciplines of Pharmacy and Education.

In 1993, the Department started to offer an M.Sc. programme by advanced study and research and in 1995, the undergraduate degree programme became an honours programme.

Today, the Department has 9 full-time members of academic staff and also employs some part-time staff in order to be able to offer three undergraduate programmes and three postgraduate ones. The different programmes offered by the Department of Chemistry are listed on our Programmes page.

The Department of Chemistry at the University of Malta has some cutting-edge instrumentation, that provide excellent facilities to our staff and students in research as well as offer services to industry and laboratories.

The pride of place in the Department is the 500 MHz multi-nuclear NMR facility. The Department also has a UPLC-MSMS, an energy dispersive XRF, a High Resolution Atomic Absorption Spectrometer and a Zetasizer as key instrumentation. Purchase of these facilities was made possible through partial funding from the European Union's European Regional Development Fund.  

National Chemistry Symposium

The Department of Chemistry will be hosting the National Chemistry Symposium 2019. 

Fentanyl First Responders' Guide
The Department of Chemistry has launched a booklet about Fentanyl - Safety recommendations guide for first responders. Download the digital version.
Last Updated: 4 February 2015

Log In back to UoM Homepage