University of Malta

About the Department of Physics
UOM Main Page
Apply - Admissions 2016
Campus Map button


The Department of Physics was re-established in 1987 as part of the Faculty of Science.  The main offices and laboratories are housed within the Physics and Mathematics Building.  Among the experimental facilities available are undergraduate and research laboratories, as well as computational facilities that include Albert, a supercomputing cluster, and a GPU cluster.

The research laboratories under the direct responsibility of the Department of Physics are:

  • Electromagnetics Laboratory
  • Ultrawideband Laboratory
  • Supercomputing Cluster (Albert)

The other laboratories that were the responsibility of the Department of Physics and are now being managed by the Department of Geosciences are:

  • The Atmospheric Research Station (GAW) at Gozo
  • Seismic monitoring network on the Maltese Islands
  • Geophysics Laboratory
  • Mobile Air Quality Laboratory

The research laboratories were acquired through European Regional Development funds.

The Department is highly research active and students are continuously encouraged to get involved in the ongoing research projects and initiatives. We are proud of our historic gender balance in terms of both undergraduate and research students, and the happy, informal and friendly relationship between students and staff.

MSc (Research) and PhD application deadlines
Application Deadlines for Academic Year 2017/18 
MSc and PhD applications deadlines
Application Deadlines for Academic Year 2018/19
Giant Glowing Halos around Distant Quasars
Unexpected Giant Glowing Halos around distant quasors
Last Updated: 4 November 2015

Log In back to UoM Homepage