University of Malta

UOM Main Page
Apply - Admissions 2016


Information on the Submission of a Research Ethics Proposal 

to the Social Wellbeing Faculty Research Ethics Committee (SWB FREC)

As from 1 December 2017, the procedure on how ethical issues are reviewed in research has been changed.  The new procedure is explained in the University of Malta Research Ethics Review Procedures found on the University Research Ethics Committee’s (UREC) website.  

Researchers are to follow the guidelines as outlined in the University of Malta Research Code of Practice also found on UREC’s website in the above-mentioned link.

The first step is for researchers to download and fill in Form AUniversity of Malta Research Ethics and Data Protection Self-Assessment Form available here. This form should be signed by both the researcher, who is normally a student, and the supervisor, who is normally an academic member of staff.

If Form A only needs to be filled in, apart from the form itself, researchers are to also submit any research materials that will be used; such as information sheets, consent forms, interview questions or questionnaires, discussion guides or stimuli, etc.; together with the dissertation proposal which was already submitted to the department for approval by the departmental Board of Studies.

Should researchers need to fill in Form B which is the full Research Ethics Proposal Form and which is the same form used in the previous years, they can download it from here. This form should be signed twice by the researcher and once by the supervisor of the research in the provided spaces on the Terms and Conditions page.

The first page of Form B has a checklist where one can find what other documents are needed for submission besides the form itself. Information sheets/Recruitment letters are to be signed by the researcher, above his/her typed name at the end of the letter. Both the researcher and the supervisor are to sign the Consent forms, preferably in spaces provided specifically for these signatures. Should copies be appended to Form B, then no copies should be appended to Form A. Researchers and supervisors should ensure that the information on Forms A and B is coherent to avoid any delays in the process.

Both Form A and/or Form B are to be submitted to FREC as a hard copy and also a soft, scanned copy.

The hard copy needs to be submitted at FREC’s office (Room 113, Humanities A Building – Laws & Theology) between 08:00-12:15 and 13:30-16:45. The soft copy, which needs to be a scan of the hard copy as one single pdf document (Form A in one pdf and Form B in another pdf), should be sent by email.  Both the hard and scanned copies need to have all the necessary signatures in place and submitted by the stipulated deadlines.

The below are the deadline dates when Form A and/or Form B need to be submitted for FREC's consideration:

Wednesday 10 January 2018
Wednesday 7 February 2018
Wednesday 7 March 2018
Wednesday 11 April 2018
Wednesday 9 May 2018
Wednesday 6 June 2018
Wednesday 4 July 2018

The SWB FREC has two secretaries, Ms Charmaine Agius and Ms Marica Galea.  Each secretary will be receiving Form A and/or Form B from researchers according to the Department as follows:

Ms Charmaine Agius Ms Marica Galea
Department of Disability Studies
Department of Counselling
Department of Family Studies 
Department of Criminology
Department of Gender Studies
Department of Social Policy and Social Work
Department of Gerontology
Department of Youth and Community Studies
Department of Psychology
Social Wellbeing Studies

It is very important to note that:

• researchers need to wait for ethical approval before starting the data collection (in the case where Form B is needed); and

• any researchers and supervisors who, during FREC and/or UREC audits, are found to have breached the Research Code of Practice or have given untruthful replies in the forms, will have disciplinary measures taken against them by appropriate bodies within the University of Malta.

The SWB FREC is made up of:   

Dr Katya De Giovanni (Chairperson) - Department of Psychology

Dott. Roberta Attard - Department of Counselling

Dr Claire Lucille Azzopardi Lane - Department of Disability Studies  

Dr Christian Borg Xuereb - Department of Gerontology

Dr Trevor Calafato - Department of Criminology

Dr JosAnn Cutajar - Department of Gender Studies

Dr Andreana Dibben - Department of Social Policy & Social Work

Ms Ingrid M. Grech Lanfranco - Department of Family Studies

Dr Maria Pisani - Department of Youth & Community Studies

Last Updated: 6 March 2018

Log In back to UoM Homepage