Faculty of Medicine and Surgery Community home page Statistics

The Faculty of Medicine and Surgery incorporates 12 departments and is responsible for all the teaching and training of medical and pharmacy students at the University of Malta. Four departments (Physiology and Biochemistry, Anatomy, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics and the Department of Pharmacy) are sited on the main University campus, while all clinical departments (Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Family Medicine, Paediatrics, Pathology, Psychiatry, Public Health and the Department of Surgery) are housed at the Medical School within Mater Dei teaching Hospital. Besides the two major undergraduate courses, M.D. and B.Pharm. (Hons), the Faculty also offers several postgraduate full and part-time courses at Masters and Ph.D. levels. The Faculty has several ongoing research projects which are funded by both local and foreign grants. Most of these also involve active collaborations with foreign academic institutions, and bilateral international research visits regularly occur within all departments. The Faculty actively co-ordinates the organization of the Malta Medical School Conference, which has become a regular three yearly activity hosting both local and international participants, and is now due in its ninth edition in 2014. It also publishes the Malta Medical Journal, a quarterly peer reviewed publication which is contributed to by both local and international authors.