Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: A piano recital
Authors: Attard, Maria
Keywords: Piano music
Suites (Harpsichord)
Sonatas (Piano)
Variations (Piano)
Issue Date: 2015
Abstract: This dissertation exists as an accompanying document to my piano recital, consisting of works by Bach, Mozart, Brahms, and Debussy. The priority in choosing this programme was to display the studies I have done during these past three years at university, performing music from different periods, styles, and composers. I have therefore chosen pieces ranging from when the harpsichord was the main keyboard instrument in common usage, to the late nineteenth and early twentieth century, when piano music had reached its most sophisticated level. I have put in writing what I personally feel one should know and understand when choosing to perform such a selection of piano repertoire regarding style, techniques, and performance practice, implementing and putting into practice the knowledge during a performance. I have provided both necessary and important information to understand the backgrounds of the works, and my own personal analysis and views, including reasons behind certain decisions regarding my performance.
Description: B.A.(HONS)MUSIC
Appears in Collections:Dissertations - SchPA - 2015

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
  Restricted Access
1.75 MBAdobe PDFView/Open Request a copy

Items in OAR@UM are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.