University of Malta

UOM Main Page

Prior to the re-organisation of the Medical School in the 19th century, a number of individuals have been identified as having been appointed to teach the main specialties at the School of Anatomy and Surgery and later in the Collegio Medico.


Scuola di Anatomia e Chirurgia

Lettore in Anatomy & Surgery
1676-1694          Giuseppe Zammit
1695-1723          Giuseppe Farrugia
1723-1753          Gabriele Henin
1754-1763          Enrico Magri [suffered apoplexy soon after appointment]
1754                  Vincenzo Galli [acting capacity]
1763-1771          Michelangelo Grima


Collegio Medico

Professore di Anatomia et Chirurgia
1771-1797          Michelangelo Grima
1797-1798          Aurelio Badat

Professore delle operazioni chirurgiche e dell’arte ostetricia
1782-1798[?]      Saverio Micallef

Professore di Medicina
1771-1797          Giorgio Locano
1797-1798          Giuseppe Grech


The re-establishment of Medical studies in the 19th century with the various reforms carried out by the University authorities to ensure the maintenance of standards required the creation of a number of University chairs and lectureship posts. This significantly augmented the academic staff of the Faculty of Medicine & Surgery.

Professor of Anatomy & Histology
1800-1813          Aurelio Badat
1824-1838          Gavino P. Portelli
1839-1858          Charles Galland
1858-1875          Salvatore L. Pisani
1876-1894          Hamilton Stilon
1894-1920          Carmel Samut
1920-1939          Ruggier Busuttil
1939-1953          Joseph Briffa
1954-1969          Victor Griffiths
1969-1977          John Leslie Pace
Professor of Surgery
1800-1813          Aurelio Badat
1824-1838          Gavino P. Portelli
1839-1858          Charles Galland
1858-1869          Giorgio L. Engerer
1869-1885          Salvatore L. Pisani
1885-1900          Teodore Bonnici
1900-1926          Salvatore Cassar
1926-1951          Pietro Paul Debono
1951-1969          Alfred Craig
1969-1977          Victor Griffiths
Professor of Physiology & Biochemistry
1800-1815          Ludovico Abela
1815-1831          Stefano Grillet
1833-1856          G.C. Schinas
1856-1902          Giuseppe O. Galea
1903-1925          Carmelo Mifsud
1925-1926          Alphonse Portelli Carbone
1926-1939          Pietro Xuereb
1939-1963          Walter Ganado
1965-1977          William H. Bannister
Professor of Midwifery & Gynaecology
1802-1823          Francesco Buttigieg
1824-1832[?]      Michele Borg   
1833-1834          Agostino Bonnici
1835-1858          Saverio Apap      
1859-1869          Salvatore L. Pisani
1869-1880          Antonio Mifsud
1880-1904          Giuseppe Batta Schembri
1904-1909          Salvatore Grech
1909-1930          George Debono
1930-1951          Guze Ellul
1951-1952          Victor Stilon de Piro
1952-1954          Guze Ellul [acting]   
1954-1962          Oscar Zammit
1963-1965          Joseph Rosario Borg [acting]
1965-1977          Arthur P. Camilleri
Professor of Pathology
1800-1815          Ludovico Abela
1815-1832          Stefano Grillet
1833-1856          Stefano Zerafa
1856-1894          Giuseppe O. Galea
1894-1920          Carmel Samut
1920-1926          Robert Samut
1927-1948          R. Vincenti
1949-1953          Emmanuel Agius [acting]
1953-1977          George P. Xuereb

Professor of Medicine
1800-1815          Ludovico Abela
1815-1831          Stefano Grillet
1833-1856          G.C. Schinas
1856-1902          Giuseppe O. Galea
1903-1924          Carmelo Mifsud
1925-1938          Edgar H. Ferro
1939-1946          Pietro Xuereb
1946-1963          Joseph E. Debono
1963-1966          Walter Ganado
1967-1973          Joseph Zammit Maempel
1973-1977          Frederick F. Fenech

The Trade Unionist action undertaken by the medical profession in 1977 and the countermeasures taken by the administration led to the disruption of medical teaching and the dismissal of many of the Faculty departmental heads. In the initial years, until 1979, the clinical course was managed by Prof. G.P. Xuereb who acted as Co-ordinator of Clinical Studies. After 1979, new departmental heads were appointed, sometimes in a temporary acting position. The resolution of the unionist conflict after 1987 led to a new upheaval with the re-appointment of past and new appointees. The tenure to headship posts was changed to an elected temporary appointment by the Education Act XXIV of June 1988.


Head of Anatomy & Histology
1977-1979          John Leslie Pace
1980-1983          Marie Therese Camilleri
1984-1987          Anthony H.B. de Bono
1987-1990          William H. Bannister
1991-1995          Alfred Cuschieri
1996-2003          Marie Therese Camilleri
2004-2007          Alfred Cuschieri
2008-2010          Piere Schembri Wismayer

Head of Surgery
1977-1980          George P. Xuereb*
1980-1982          Anthony H.B. de Bono
1982-1985          Joseph A. Muscat
1986-1987          Arthur Felice
1988-1990          Victor Griffiths
1990-2000          Carmelo L. Cutajar
2001-2010          Godfrey Laferla
Head of Pathology
1977-1982          George P. Xuereb
1982-1991          Joseph Gatt
1992-1997          Maurice Cauchi
1998-2005          Albert Cilia Vincenti
2006-2010          Bridgette Ellul


Head of Midwifery & Gynaecology
1977-1979          George P. Xuereb*
1979-1988          Edwin S. Grech
1988-1990          Eddie A. Agius
1990-2007          Mark P. Brincat
2008-2010          Charles Savona-Ventura
Head of Physiology & Biochemistry
1977-1978          William H. Bannister
1980-1982          S. Abu-Sitta
1983                  Marie Therese Camilleri
1984-1987          Anthony H.B. de Bono
1987-1999          William H. Bannister
2000-2007          Joseph V Bannister
2008-2010          Gary Hunter


Head of Medicine
1977-1979          George P. Xuereb*
1980-1981          James Vallance-Owen
1982                   J. McD. G. Stewart
1983-1987          Angelo J. Psaila
1987-1995          Frederick F. Fenech
1996-2004          Joseph Azzopardi
2004-2010          Joseph Cacciattolo

* Co-ordinator of Clinical Studies

Last Updated: 19 December 2009

Log In back to UoM Homepage