Committee for Research Engagement

Committee for Research Engagement

Composition of the Committee

Rector or his delegate – Professor Ing. Saviour Zammit

Pro-Rector for Research and Knowledge Transfer
Pro-Rector for International Development & Quality Assurance
Director of the Research Support Services Directorate (RSSD)
Director of the Corporate Research & Knowledge Transfer Office
Director of Finance
Director for Human Resources Management and Development
Director of the Marketing, Communications and Alumni Office
Director of the Doctoral School
Chair, UREC
Five academics with expertise in Engaged Research and/or Responsible Research and Innovation, nominated by the University Senate:
  • Professor Noellie Brockdorff
  • Dr Maureen Cole
  • Professor Clare DeMarco
  • Dr Edward Duca
  • Dr Assimakopoulos Stavros

Two representatives appointed by and from the University Council

  • Mr Carmel Cachia
  • Mr Noel Caruana

Two student representatives, nominated by the KSU

  • Mr John Paul Buttigieg
  • Mr Andrea Galea
Two external stakeholder representatives chosen by the CRE Committee, and rotating annually, to be selected from among the following agencies/units:
  • National Commission for the Promotion of Equality (NCPE) – Government
  • Senior Director Strategy, Research & Technical Affairs of the Malta Council for Science and Technology (MCST) – Government
  • Director of Esplora or EsploraNatura – Public engagement organisation
  • Malta Council for the Voluntary Sector (MCVS) – Civil Society
  • Ministry for Education and Employment – Government
  • Valletta Design Cluster – Civil Society
  • Malta Chamber of Commerce, Enterprise & Industry – Economy
  • Director of Malta Business Bureau – Economy
  • The Institute of Maltese Journalists (IGM) – Media

Secretary: to be nominated by the Rector

All office holders can either attend themselves or appoint delegates.