Doctoral Academic Committee

Doctoral Academic Committee

The Doctoral Academic Committee was set up to:

  • evaluate and present for Senate’s approval doctoral programmes recommended by Faculties/Institutes/Schools boards, including applications, requests to transfer from M.Phil. to Ph.D., including the composition of boards assigned to assess submitted work, and thesis examination
  • evaluate and present for Senate’s approval requests to formally restrict open access of specific doctoral theses
  • participate in the process of evaluating the quality of doctoral programmes, and
  • manage other academic matters related to the delivery of doctoral studies that are not assigned to other offices. 

Term of Appointment:
1 January 2023 to 31 December 2023

Composition of the Committee

Professor Joseph M Cacciottolo, Pro-Rector for Academic Affairs

Professor Nicholas Vella, Director of the School

Professor Inġ. Simon Fabri responsible for Research and Knowledge Transfer
Professor Dominic Fenech, appointed by Senate
Professor Valerie Sollars, appointed by Senate
Professor Inġ. Saviour Zammit, appointed by Senate
The Dean of the Faculty or the Director of the Institute/Centre/School on an ad hoc basis

Academic Registrar (also as secretary)

Doctoral School
Information for the Doctoral Academic Committee members