Calendar for 2020

The Office for Human Resources Management & Development in collaboration with other directorates and offices is organsing a variety of training courses, workshops and sessions for the calendar year 2020.  

This page will be continuously updated with any training courses, workshops and events that will be offered in 2020. 

 

Administrative Directorates

An Introduction to the Author role on WISEflow (Academic staff)
Open
Mon 9 Nov 09:00 - 10:00
Thu 12 Nov 09:00 - 10:00 
Mon 16 Nov 09:00 - 10:00 
Thu 19 Nov 09:00 - 10:00 
Mon 23 Nov 09:00 - 10:00  
Thu 26 Nov 14:00 - 15:00
Mon 7 Dec 14:00 - 15:00 
Session info Online
   
Setting up Exams in WISEflow for Managers (Administrative staff)  Open
Tue 17 Nov 09:00 - 11:00   
Wed 18 Nov 09:00 - 11:00  
Tue 24 Nov 09:00 - 11:00 
Wed 25 Nov  09:00 - 11:00 
Wed 9 Dec 09:00 - 11:00 
Session info  Online 
   
Setting up FLOWmulti Exams in WISEflow for Authors (Academic staff)  Open
Fri 27 Nov 13:00 - 15:00 
Thu 3 Dec 10:00 - 12:00
Fri 11 Dec 13:00 - 15:00  
Session info  Online 
   
Q&A WISEflow session  Open
Mon 30 Nov 09:00 - 09:45
Thu 10 Dec 09:00 - 09:45 
Session info  Online
Setting up Exams in the Exam VLE Closed
Session One - Mon 11 May 09:00 - 11:30
Session Two - Tue 12 May 09:30 - 12:00
Session Three - Tue 12 May  14:00 - 16:30
Session Four - Wed 13 May 09:30 - 12:00
Session Five - Thu 14 May 09:30 - 12:00
Session Six - Thu 14 May 14:00 - 16:30
Session Seven - Fri 15 May 09:30 - 12:00
Session Eight - Mon 18 May 09:00 - 11:30 
Session Nine - Tue 19 May  13:00 - 15:30 
Session Ten - Wed 20 May 09:00 - 11:30
Session Eleven - Thu 21 May 09:00 - 11:30
Session Twelve - Fri 22 May 09:00 - 11:30 
Session info Online
   
Setting up exams in the Exam VLE  Closed
for the September 2020 Assessment Session    
Session One - Tue 25 Aug 10:00 - 11:00 
Session Two - Mon 31 Aug 10:00 - 11:00  
Session info  Online
   
Setting up Assignment and Dissertation/Thesis Drop-boxes in the VLE  Closed
Session One - Wed 13 May 14:00 - 16:30 
Session Two - Fri 15 May 13:30 - 16:00
Session info
Online
   
Setting up Exams in WISEflow (Administrative staff)
Closed
Session One - Wed 13 May 08:30 - 11:30
Session Two - Thu 14 May 13:30 - 16:30
Session Three - Mon 18 May 13:30 - 16:30
Session info
Online
   
Setting up Exams in WISEflow (Academic staff)
Closed
Session One - Wed 13 May 14:30 - 16:30
Session Two - Fri 15 May 14:00 - 16:00
Session Three - Tue 19 May 09:00 - 11:30 
Session Four -  Fri 22 May 13:30 - 16:00
Session info
Online
   
Sharing experiences on WISEflow for academics and Q&A session with UNIwise  Closed
Thu 21 May 14:30 - 17:00
Session info
Online
   
Q&A WISEflow session Closed
Session One - Tue 26 May 14:00 - 14:45
Session Two -  Thu 28 May 09:00 - 09:45 
Session Three - Tue 2 Jun 15:30 - 16:15
Session Four - Thu 4 Jun 11:00 - 11:45 
Session Five - Thu 11 Jun 11:30 - 12:15
Session Six - Thu 18 Jun 11:00 - 11:45 
Session Seven - Tue 23 Jun 09:00 - 09:45 
Session Eight - Tue 30 Jun 09:00 - 09:45
Session Nine - Tue 7 Jul 09:00 - 09:45
Session Ten - Tue 14 Jul 09:00 - 09:45
Session Eleven - Thu 23 Jul 09:00 - 09:45
Session Twelve - Thu 27 Aug 09:00 - 09:45 
Session Thirteen - Fri 11 Sep 09:00 - 09:45
Session info
Online
   
Q&A Exam VLE session Closed
Session One - Tue 26 May 09:00 - 09:45 
Session Two - Wed 27 May 09:00 - 09:45  
Session Three - Wed 3 Jun 11:00 - 11:45
Session Four - Thu 4 Jun 15:30 - 16:15
Session Five - Wed 10 Jun 11:30 - 12:15
Session Six - Thu 18 Jun 12:00 - 12:45
Session Seven - Mon 7 Sep 10:00 - 10:45
Session info  Online
   
WISEflow Assessor Training  Closed
Session One - Wed 27 May 12:15 -14:00 
Session Two - Tue 9 June 14:00 - 16:00 
Session info
Online
Basic Notions of Data Protection and Data Protection Law Closed
Session One - FEMA - Wed 8 Jan 12:00 - 14:00
Session Two - Wed 15 Jan 10:00 - 12:00
Session Three - Mon 16 Mar  Postponed
Session Four - Junior College - Tue 30 Jun 09:00 - 11:00
Session Five - Junior College - Fri 18 Sep 09:00 - 11:00 
Session info Online
Administering Ph.D. Students - Workshop for Officers in Charge
Closed
Wed 25 Nov 10:30 - 12:30
Session info Online
Debating with the Media  Closed
Part One - Tue 7 Jan  17:00 - 20:00 
Part Two - Thu 9 Jan  17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info  LC117/120 
   
Recognising Stress and Developing Coping Strategies Closed  
Wed 12 Feb  17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info   LC216
   
Beyond your Ph.D.: Designing Documents for  Closed
Supranational Organisations and International Institutions   
Tue 18 Feb  17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info   LC118
   
Leadership for the 21st Century Closed 
Tue 20 Feb 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop info    LC118
   
Introduction to Student Mentoring Closed   
Tue 3 Mar 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info    LC216 
   
Dealing with Conflict Situations Closed 
Tue 24 Mar 09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info  LC118 
   
Enhancing Small Group Teaching and Learning Closed
Fri 3 Apr 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info  Online
   
Basic Lecturing Skills  Postponed
Tue 21 Apr 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info  
   
Basic Research Supervision Skills Postponed
Tue 28 Apr 17:00 - 20:00  
Workshop info 
   
Convincing and Debating Postponed
Wed 6 May 17:00 - 20:00  
Workshop info  
   
Writing Winning Grant Applications  Postponed
Thu 7 May 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info

   
Understanding and Developing Assertiveness  Postponed
Mon 11 May  17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info 
   
Understanding Intellectual Property  Closed
12, 19 Oct 09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info 
LC216/Remote
   
Research Impact: Make Yourself Responsible Research and Innovation Ready  Closed
Mon 19 Oct 17:00 - 20:00
Workshop info   Remote
   
Introduction to Student Mentoring Closed
Tue 20 Oct 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop info    P-R
   
Communicating Research to Diverse Audiences  Closed
Wed 28 Oct 09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info   Remote
   
Writing Winning Grant Applications  Closed
Thu 5 Nov 17:00 - 20:00
Workshop info  Remote
   
Writing Effective CVs and Job Application Letters  Open  
Mon 9 Nov 09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info  LC216
   
Preparing for a Job Interview  Open  
Wed 11 Nov  17:00 - 20:00
Workshop info   LC216 
   
Getting Published: The Journal Article (Life Sciences and Medicine)  Open   
Thu 12 Nov 09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info   Remote
   
Getting Published: Preparing the Book Proposal  Open 
Fri 13 Nov & Fri 4 Dec  17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info  LC216
   
Employability Skills: Perspectives from Employers  Open 
Mon 23 Nov 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info  Remote
   
Getting Published: The Journal Article (Social and Behavioural Sciences)  Open 
Fri 27 Nov 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info  LC216
   
Data Analysis with Python  Closed 
10, 11 Dec 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info   Remote
   
Getting Published: the Journal Article (Architecture and STEM)  Open
Wed 27 Jan 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info LC216
Designing your VLE Areas Closed
Thu 23 Jan 09:00 - 12:00
Session info TR107
   
Using Turnitin  Waiting list
Tue 28 Jan  09:00 - 12:00
Tue 22 Sep  09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info  Online
   
Introduction to Lecture Capture  Closed
Tue 4 Feb 10:00 - 11:00
Session info TR107 
   
University Web CMS Closed
Workshop One - Thu 6 Feb 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop Two - Wed 12 Feb  09:00 - 12:00 
Faculty of Arts Workshop - Thu 27 Feb 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop Four - Tue 3 Mar 09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop Five - Wed 26 Aug 09:30 - 11:00
   
IBM SPSS: Introduction A Closed
24, 26 & 28 Feb   17:00 - 19:00
6, 8, 10 Jul  13:30 - 15:30  
9, 11, 13 Nov 17:00 - 19:00
Course info  Online
   
IBM SPSS: Introduction B  Open 
2, 4 & 6 Mar 17:00 - 19:00 
15, 16, 17 Jul  13:30 - 15:30 
16, 18, 20 Nov 17:00 - 19:00
Course info  Online
   
IBM SPSS: Intermediate Open
9,11 Mar  17:00 - 19:00 
20, 22, 24 Jul
13:30 - 15:30 
24, 25, 27 Nov 17:00 - 19:00 
01, 02, 04 Dec  17:00 - 19:00  
Course info Online
   
IBM SPSS: Advanced  Open
23, 25 & 27 Mar   17:00 - 19:00  
03, 04, 05 Aug  13:30 - 15:30 
15, 16, 19 Dec 17:00 - 19:00 
Course info Online
   
Getting Started with the VLE Waiting list
Tue 17 Mar 10:00 - 12:00 
Wed 18 Mar 
12:00 - 14:00
Tue 24 Mar 14:00 - 16:00
Wed 1 Apr 09:00 - 11:00
Thu 9 Apr 09:00 - 11:00
Tue 15 Sep 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop info Online
   
Using Personal Capture to Pre-Record Lectures
Waiting list
Tue 17 Mar 14:00 - 16:00 
Wed 18 Mar 12:00 - 14:00
Mon 23 Mar 14:00 - 16:00 
Tue 24 Mar 14:00 - 16:00 
Thu 2 Apr 10:00 - 12:00
Tue 7 Apr 10:00 - 12:00 
Wed 22 Apr 14:00 - 16:00
Wed 30 Sep  10:00 - 12:00
Thu 8 Oct 10:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info  Online
   
Getting Started with Zoom for Teaching Waiting list
Wed 18 Mar  14:00 - 16:00 
Fri 20 Mar  10:00 - 12:00  
Mon 23 Mar 10:30 - 12:30
Thu 26 Mar  10:00 - 12:00 
Mon 30 Mar 14:00 - 16:00
Mon 6 Apr 10:00 - 12:00
Thu 1 Oct 10:00 - 12:00
Wed 7 Oct 10:00 - 12:00 
Thu 15 Oct 13:00 - 15:00
Workshop info   Online
   
Getting Started with Zoom Webinars  Closed
Fri 9 Oct 10:00 - 12:00
Workshop info Online
   
Using Google Meet for Virtual Meetings  Closed
Mon 30 Mar 14:00 - 15:30 
Wed 1 Apr 10:00 - 11:30 
Thu 2 Apr 14:00 - 15:30
Fri 3 Apr 14:00 - 15:30 
Mon 6 Apr 10:00 - 11:30 
Tue 7 Apr 14:00 - 15:30
Wed 8 Apr 14:00 - 15:30
Thu 9 Apr 10:00 - 11:30 
Workshop info Online
   
WISEflow Closed
Tue 14 Apr 09:30 - 11:00
Wed 15 Apr 13:00 - 15:00
Thu 16 Apr 09:30 - 11:00
   
Comparing Google Meet and Zoom for Virtual Meetings Closed
Fri 17 Apr 14:00 - 16:00 
Fri 24 Apr 14:00 - 16:00
Wed 29 Apr 14:00 - 16:00 
Wed 6 May 11:00 - 13:00
Workshop info Online
   
VLE/Panopto Q&A  Open
Wed 16 Sep  10:00 - 11:00 
Wed 21 Oct 10:00 - 11:00
Wed 4 Nov 14:00 - 15:00
Q&A info   Online
   
Zoom Q&A Closed
Tue 6 Oct 10:00 - 11:00
Tue 13 Oct 10:00 - 11:00
Fri 16 Oct 14:00 - 15:00
Tue 20 Oct 09:30 - 10:30
Tue 3 Nov 10:00 - 11:00
Q&A info  Online
Marketing Academic Programmes on Social Media Platforms - Junior College
Closed
Tue 23 Jun 09:00 - 12:30
Wed 24 Jun 09:00 - 12:00
Fri 26 Jun 09:00 - 12:00
Course info Online
   
The UM website: use of the UM brand  Closed
Session One - Wed 2 Sep 10:00 - 11:00
Session Two - Junior College - Fri 25 Sep 09:30 - 10:30 
Session info  Online
Designing, Delivering and Evaluating Online Study-Units
Closed
Wed 8 Jul - Tue 22 Sep 15:30 - 17:30
Course info Online
The Admissions Process - From Application to Decision Closed
Session One - Tue 7 Jul 10:00 - 12:00
Session info LC118
   
Procedures for Boards of Examiners of Master and Bachelor dissertations  Closed
Session One - Thu 21 May 10:00 - 12:00
Session info  Online
   
Students Progression Information (update icw new UG Regulations)
Closed
Session One - Tue 21 Jul 10:00 - 12:00
Session Two - Thu 23 Jul  10:00 - 12:00 
Session Three - Tue 4 Aug 10:00 - 12:00  
Session Four - Wed 5 Aug 10:00 - 12:00 
Session info   LC118
   
Drafting new or amending existing Bye-Laws  Closed
Session One - Tue 27 Oct 10:00 - 12:00  
Session info  Online
Management of the Asset Inventory module in AIMS
Closed
Session One - Fri 10 Jun 10:00 - 12:00
Session info Online
   
Basic Chemistry Course Closed
Course One - 31 Aug, 3, 7, 10, 14, 17, 22, 24 Sep 08:00 - 10:00
Course info Online/Lab-based 
Changes on SIMS – Amendments to the General Undergraduate Regulations  Closed
Session One - Wed 8 Jan 09:00 - 12:00
Session Two - Thu 9 Jan
09:00 - 12:00 
Session Three - Fri 10 Jan 
09:00 - 12:00
Course info  TR105/106
   
Introduction to SIMS Closed
Part One - Wed 8 Jan 09:00 - 12:00 
Part Two - Thu 9 Jan 09:00 - 12:00
Part One - Tue 4 Aug  09:00 - 12:00 
Part Two - Thu 6 Aug 09:00 - 12:00 
Course info
TR108
   
Introduction to new eSIMS task for Applications with Overseas Qualifications
Closed
Session One - Mon 13 Jan 09:00 - 12:00
Session Two - Tue 14 Jan 09:00 - 12:00
Session Three - Wed 5 Feb  09:00 - 12:00 
Session Four - Thu 6 Feb 09:00 - 12:00
Course info
TR105/TR003
   
Module Registration Closed
Tue 14 Jan 09:00 - 11:00 
Mon 10 Aug 09:00 - 11:30
Course info
TR105
   
Results Inputting Closed 
Part One - Tue 18 Feb 09:00 - 12:00 
Part Two - Thu 20 Feb 09:00 - 12:00  
Part One - Thu 20 Aug 09:00 - 12:00 
Part Two - Fri 21 Aug 09:00 - 12:00 
Course info
TR105
   
Student Progression Process (update icw new UG Regulations) Closed
Session One - Mon 27 Jul 09:00 - 11:30
Session Two - Fri 31 Jul  09:00 - 11:30 
Session Three - Mon 10 Aug 09:00 - 11:30 
Session Four - Tue 11 Aug 09:00 - 11:30 
Session info TR003

Continuous Development 

Customer Service Excellence Skills Closed 
Course One - 18 & 20 Feb 08:30 - 12:30
Course Two - Library - 28 & 30 Jul 09:00 - 13:00
Course Three - IT Services - 1 & 2 Sep 09:00 - 12:00
Course Four - IT Services - 9 & 10 Sep  09:00 - 12:00 
Course Five - IT Services - 23 & 24 Sep  09:00 - 12:00 
Course info Online
   
Personal Communications Closed
Course One - 11 Mar 09:00 - 12:00 
Course info Rm 18, ICT 
   
Online Teaching Forum Closed
Session One - Thu 30 Apr 15:00 - 17:00 
Session Two - Thu 7 May 15:00 - 17:00  
Forum info Online
   
Leadership Skills Closed
Faculty of Science - 2, 10, 16, 24, 30 Sep, 7, 29 Oct 12:00 - 14:00 
Course info Online
Maltese as a Foreign Language (Level 1) Closed
Course One - 19, 26 Feb, 4, 11 Mar, 22, 29 Apr 12:00 - 14:00
Course info Online
   
Maltese Sign Language Course
Closed  
26 Oct, 2, 9, 16, 23, 30 Nov 15:00 - 16:00 
7, 14, 21 Dec, 4, 11, 18 Jan  
Course info
It-Tajra
   
English Proficiency Course for Childcare Staff
Closed
3, 4, 10, 11, 17, 18, 24, 25 Nov  
1, 2, 9, 15 Dec
Course info
OH105
Preparation of an Agenda and Minute Taking and Writing - Follow-up Workshop
Closed
Wed 29 Jul 09:00 - 12:00
Course info LC217
   
Preparation of an Agenda and Minute Taking and Writing  Open
Session One - Fri 27 Nov 09:00 - 12:00 
Course info  LC216

Research Groups & Initiatives 

Introduction to Blockchain Closed
Wed 13 May 10:00 - 12:00
Session info Online

Staff and Student Wellbeing 

First Aid & AED Postponed
16, 17, 18 Mar 08:15 - 16:15
Course info Rm 18, ICT
   
Paediatric First Aid Postponed
18, 19, 20, 21 May 14:00 - 17:00
Course info  
   
First Aid Postponed
Course One - 27, 29, 31 Jul 08:00 - 13:30
Course Two - 24, 26, 28 Aug  08:00 - 13:30 
Course info
GWHD
Avoiding social isolation: maintaining social distancing
Closed
Session One & Two - Wed 8 Apr 11:00 - 12:30
Session Three & Four - Thu 16 Apr 12:00 - 13:30
Session Five - Tue 21 Apr 13:00 - 14:30
Session Six - Tue 28 Apr 11:00 - 12:30
Session Seven - Wed 6 May 12:30 - 14:00
Session info Online
Being present for your colleagues Closed
Session One - Fri 3 Apr 10:30 - 12:00
Session Two - Wed 22 Apr 10:30 - 12:00
Session Three - Wed 6 May 10:00 - 12:00
Course info  Online
   
Mental Health First Aid  Closed
Course One - 26 & 28 Feb 08:30 - 16:00
Course Two - 16 & 17 April Postponed
Course Three - 8, 10, 15, 17 Jul Postponed
Course Four - 31 Jul, 3, 6, 7 Aug 08:30 - 12:00
Course Five - 11, 13 Nov 08:30 - 16:00 
Course info
   
Mental Health First Aid Refresher  Closed
Course One - Wed 15 Apr 08:30 - 13:00 
Course Two - Thu 23 Jul 08:30 - 13:00  
Course Three - Tue 29 Sep 08:30 - 13:00
Course info Online
   
Supporting suicidal and severely distressed students
Closed 
Course One - Thu 7 May 08:30 - 12:00
Course info Online
   
Empowering severely distressed students to seek professional help   Closed 
Workshop One - Thu 25 Jun 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop info  Online
   
Supporting suicidal and severely distressed students  Closed
Empowering severely distressed students to seek professional help    08:30 - 12:00
Course Two - Social Wellbeing - 4 & 5  Aug 09:00 - 12:00
Course Three - 28 & 29 Oct  08:30 - 12:00
Course info Online
ACCESS – Disability Support Unit and Committee
Closed
Session One - Mon 4 May 10:00 - 12:00
Session Two - Tue 5 May 10:00 - 12:00
Session Three - Mon 23 Nov Postponed 
Course info Online
Mindfulness based programme Closed
Group 1 - 2, 9, 16, 23, 30 Apr, 7 May 10:00 - 12:00
Group 2 - 17, 24 Apr, 8, 15, 22, 29 May 10:00 - 12:00
Course info Online
Stress Management Closed
Session One - Fri 6 Mar 08:30 - 10:30
Junior College Session - Tue 7 Apr 08:30 - 10:30
School of Performing Arts Session - Wed 30 Sep 08:30 - 10:30 
Session info Online
   
Skills for the Parent Employee  Closed
Session One - Fri 8 May 12:30 - 14:30
Junior College Session - Tue 7 Apr   11:00 - 13:00 
Session Three - Mon 5 Oct 09:00 - 11:00  
Session info  Online
   
Bullying at the Workplace  Closed
Mon 27 Apr  09:00 - 11:00
Session info  Online
   
Drugs and their effects  Cancelled
Mon 11 May 08:30 - 10:30 
Session info   Online
   
Alcohol and its effects Cancelled
Wed 13 May  08:30 - 10:30 
Session info  Online
   
Compulsive gambling Cancelled
Fri 22 May 08:30 - 09:30  
Session info
Online 
   
Wise use of technology Postponed
Session One - Wed 15 Jul 09:00 - 10:30  
Session Two - Wed 23 Sep 09:00 - 11:00  
Session info  VA
   
Addictions workshop Postponed
Session One - Mon 18 May 09:00 - 12:00 
Session Two - Wed 19 Aug 09:00 - 12:00 
Session info   Online
   
Healthy living abroad  Postponed
Tue 14 Jul 09:00 - 11:00
Session info 

Events

Orientation Day for Academics - Second edition Closed
Thu 16 Jan
08:30 - 16:00
Website Aula Prima, Valletta Campus 
Meeting the Challenge of Doctoral Supervision Closed
Thu 1 Oct
09:00 - 13:00
Webinar info Online

 

Registration guidelines 

Interested participants are kindly asked to fill in the registration form and indicate the courses and corresponding dates when they are able to attend for such courses.   

If you are unable to attend (and have already registered), inform us by email as soon as possible. Late cancellations are only accepted if a valid reason is provided by the applicant. We will be unable to accommodate future training requests if our office receives more than one cancellation or for missing training without a valid reason.

Valid reasons for late cancellation or for missing training may include:

  • Illness
  • Unplanned leave of absence
  • Unplanned work deadlines 

The capacity for each training session is limited and therefore interested applicants are kindly advised to apply early. Acceptance to these sessions is subject to the approval of the Office for Human Resources Management & Development and the respective Directorate. Accepted candidates will receive an e-mail from our office with the course details confirming your attendance one week prior to the commencement of the training. 

Our office strives to ensure that all interested members of staff are accepted to these courses. It is highly recommended that you keep the selected training dates free since we will contact applicants one week prior to the commencement of the training.  

After attending our training sessions, you are highly encouraged to submit your feedback in the following evaluation form and propose ideas for training sessions which are useful for day-to-day work. Candidates who have successfully completed training will be awarded with a certificate. 


Last Updated 1 December 2020 at 11:02


https://www.um.edu.mt/hrmd/trainingdevelopment/calendar2020