Calendar for 2021

The Office for Human Resources Management & Development in collaboration with other directorates and offices is organsing a variety of training courses, workshops and sessions for the calendar year 2021, which are on offer for all UM employees.   

This page will be continuously updated with any training courses, workshops and events that will be offered in 2021. 

 

Academic Entities

Postgraduate research supervision: challenges and styles
Waiting list
Wed 5 May 12:00 - 14:00
Workshop info  Online
Leadership for the 21st Century
Closed
Thu 4 Mar 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop info  LC216
   
Research Impact: Make Yourself RRI Ready Closed 
Thu 11 Mar 09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info
Online
   
Communicating Research to Diverse Audiences
Closed
Thu 18 Mar 17:00 - 20:00
Workshop info
Online 
   
Preparing for the Viva   Closed
Fri 26 Mar 09:00 - 12:00  
Workshop info  Online 
   
Getting Published: the Journal Article (Life Sciences and Medicine)  Closed
Thu 15 Apr 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info  Online
   
Preparing for a Job Interview  Postponed
Fri 16 Apr  09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info  LC216 
   
Writing Effective CVs and Job Application Letters  Closed
Fri 16 Apr   17:00 - 20:00  
Workshop info   LC216  
   
Dealing with Conflict Situations   Closed
Wed 21 Apr 09:00 - 12:00  
Workshop info    Online 
   
Debating with the media  Closed
Part One - Thu 22 Apr 09:00 - 12:00 
Part Two - Thu 29 Apr 09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info  Online  
   
Employability Skills: Perspectives from Employers  Closed
Mon 26 Apr  09:00 - 12:00  
Workshop info   Online 
   
Reflections on the Use of Grounded Theory in Qualitative Research  Closed 
Tue 27 Apr 09:00 - 12:00  
Workshop info    Online  
   
Upgrading from M.Phil. to Ph.D. – the Transfer Phase  Closed
Tue 27 Apr  17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info  Online 
   
Getting Published: the Journal Article (Social and Behavioural Sciences)  Closed 
Wed 28 Apr 10:00 - 13:00   
Workshop info   Online
   
Getting Published: the Journal Article (Humanities, Education and Law)  Closed
Wed 5 May 17:00 - 20:00 
Workshop info  Online 
   
Data Analysis with Python  Closed 
10, 11 May 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop info  Online
   
Introduction to LaTeX: Typesetting Your Thesis or Research Paper  Closed 
10, 11 May  17:00 - 20:00  
Workshop info   Online
   
Enhancing Small Group Teaching and Learning
Closed
Wed 12 May 09:00 - 12:00 
Workshop info  Online 
   
Writing Winning Grant Applications
Closed
Thu 20 May 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop info   Online 
   
Machine Learning with Python
Closed
17, 18 May 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop info
Online
   
Introduction to Repertory Grid Technique
Closed
Tue 25 May 17:00 - 20:00  
Workshop info
Online
   
Getting Published: the Journal Article (Architecture and STEM)  Closed
Thu 27 May 09:00 - 12:00
Workshop info
Online 
   
Practical Aspects to Implementing EU-funded Projects
Closed
Mon 31 May 17:00 - 20:00
Workshop info
Online
   
Basic Lecturing Skills
Closed
Thu 3 Jun 17:00 - 20:00
Workshop info
Online

Administrative Directorates 

An Introduction to the Author role on WISEflow (Academic staff) Waiting list
Tue 4 May 09:00 - 10:00 
Session info
Online 
   
Setting up Exams in WISEflow for Managers (Administrative staff)
Waiting list
Thu 6 May  09:00 - 11:00
Session info
Online
   
Q&A WISEflow session  Open
Thu 14 Jan 09:00 - 10:00
Mon 18 Jan 14:00 - 15:00
Fri 22 Jan 09:00 - 10:00
Fri 29 Jan 09:00 - 10:00
Wed 3 Feb 14:00 - 15:00
Mon 15 Feb 14:00 - 15:00
Mon 10 May 09:00 - 10:00
Tue 25 May 14:00 - 15:00
Tue 8 Jun 14:30 - 15:30
Wed 23 Jun  09:00 - 10:00
Session info  Online 
   
Setting up FLOWmulti Exams in WISEflow for Authors (Academic staff)
Waiting list
Thu 7 Jan
09:00 - 11:00
Thu 13 May 09:00 - 11:00
Session info
Online
   
WISEflow Assessor Training (Academic staff)  Closed
Mon 25 Jan  14:00 - 16:00
Wed 27 Jan 09:00 - 11:00
Thu 11 Feb 14:00 - 16:00
Tue 8 Jun  09:00 - 11:00
Session info  Online
   
Transferring Results from WISEflow to SIMS  Closed
Wed 24 Feb  10:00 - 11:00 
Mon 1 Mar 10:00 - 11:00 
Wed 3 Mar 10:00 - 11:00 
Session info   Online 
Student Conduct and Services offered at the Health and Wellness Centre
Waiting list 
Session One - Mon 22 Mar 09:00 - 11:00
Session Two - Tue 23 Mar 09:00 - 11:00
Session info  Online 
   
Amendments to the General Postgraduate Regulations Open 
Session One - Tue 6 Jul 09:00 - 11:00 
Session Two - Thu 8 Jul 09:00 - 11:00 
Session Three - Wed 21 Jul 09:00 - 11:00  
Session info Online
   
Students' Progression  Open 
Session One - Tue 13 Jul  09:00 - 11:00  
Session Two - Thu 15 Jul  09:00 - 11:00 
Session info  Online 
Designing, Delivering and Evaluating Online Study-Units
Waiting list 
Wed 3 Mar - Tue 25 May 15:00 - 17:00
Course info  Online 
   
Postgraduate research supervision: challenges and styles  Waiting list 
Wed 5 May  12:00 - 14:00 
Workshop info 
Online 
Management of the Asset Inventory module in AIMS
Closed
Session One - Wed 3 Feb (Argotti, Chemistry, Metamaterials) 09:00 - 10:30
Session Two - Fri 5 Feb (Physics, Biology, Geosciences) 09:00 - 10:30
Session info  Online 
Marks and Grades - Inputting Results on SIMS
Closed
Session One - Tue 12 Jan 10:00 - 12:30
Session Two - Fri 22 Jan 10:00 - 12:30 
Session Three - Tue 23 Feb 10:00 - 12:30 
Session Four - Thu 25 Feb 10:00 - 12:30 
Session info  Online 
   
Introduction to SIMS Closed
Part One - Mon 25 Jan 09:00 - 11:00
Part Two - Tue 26 Jan (Grp 1) 09:00 - 11:00
Part Two - Thu 28 Jan (Grp 2) 09:00 - 11:00 
Course info   Online
   
Module Registration  Closed 
Tue 23 Feb 09:00 - 11:30
Wed 24 Feb 09:00 - 11:30 
Course info  Online 
   
Results Inputting Closed 
Part One - Mon 1 Mar 09:00 - 12:00 
Part Two - Tue 2 Mar (Grp 1) 09:00 - 12:00  
Part Two - Thu 4 Mar (Grp 2) 09:00 - 12:00 
Course info  Online 
   
Student Progression Process on SIMS  Open 
Wed 28 Jul 09:00 - 12:00
Session info Classroom based
VLE, Panopto and Zoom Q&A
Closed
Wed 17 Feb 14:00 - 15:00 
Session info Online 
   
Turnitin Q&A  Closed
Fri 19 Feb 10:00 - 11:00 
Session info  Online 
   
Comparing Google Meet and Zoom for Virtual Meetings  Closed
Tue 16 Mar 14:00 - 16:00
Session info  Online 
   
Google Workspace  Open
12, 14, 16 Jul  10:00 - 12:00 
Course info Online 
   
IBM SPSS: Introduction   Closed
01, 03, 05 Mar  17:00 - 19:00 
Course info  Online
   
IBM SPSS: Intermediate  Closed
15, 17, 18 Mar 17:00 - 19:00  
Course info  Online 
   
IBM SPSS: Advanced Closed
12, 14, 16 Apr 17:00 - 19:00 
Course info  Online 
   
Intermediate Excel Waiting list
15 Mar 10:00 - 12:00 
17, 18 Mar  14:00 - 16:00
Course info  Online
   
Intermediate Word Waiting list
22, 24, 26 Mar 10:00 - 12:00 
Course info   Online 
   
Getting Started with Zoom for Teaching
Waiting list
Tue 25 Mar 15:00 - 17:00
Session info 
Online

Continuous Development

Mentoring in Challenging Situations 
Waiting list
Course One - 14, 21, 28 Jan, 4, 11, 18 Feb
17:00 - 19:00 
Course Two -  5, 12, 26 Mar, 9, 16, 23,30 Apr 14:00 - 16:00 
Course Three - 3, 10, 17, 24 Jun 10:00 - 14:30
Course Four - 10, 17, 24, 30 Sep 09:00 - 12:00
Course info
Online
   
Leadership Skills Waiting list
Course One - 2, 9, 16, 23, 30 Jun 10:00 - 14:30 
Course Two - 13, 15, 22, 29 Sep 09:00 - 12:00 
Course info Online
Maltese Sign Language Course
Closed
11, 18, 25 Jan, 1 Feb
15:00 - 16:00 
Course info
Online

Staff and Student Wellbeing 

First Aid Waiting list
Online Sessions - 4, 8, 23 Mar 09:00 - 11:00
Online Sessions - 11, 15 Mar 09:00 - 12:00
Practical & Assessment - 25 Mar 09:00 - 12:00
First Aid - Course Two   Waiting list
Online Sessions - 7, 9, 12, 14 Jul 09:00 - 13:00
Practical & Assessment - 16 Jul 08:30 - 13:00
Course info  Blended
   
Food Handling Course Closed
Course One - Fri 30 Apr 08:30 - 15:00
Course info Tajra 
ACCESS – Disability Support Unit and Committee
Closed
Faculty for Social Wellbeing - Tue 19 Jan 10:00 - 12:00
Session Two - Thu 21 Jan 10:00 - 12:00
Session Three - Mon 25 Jan 10:00 - 12:00 
Session info Online
Supporting suicidal and severely distressed students
Closed
Empowering severely distressed students to seek professional help
Academics - 9, 10 Mar 09:00 - 12:00
Faculty of Science (Admin, tech, ind) - 16, 17 Mar
09:00 - 12:00
Library - 14, 15 Sep  09:00 - 12:00
Junior College - 16, 17 Sep 09:00 - 12:00 
Course info Online
Mindfulness based programme
Waiting list
Course One - 4, 11, 18, 25 Mar, 1, 8 Apr 11:00 - 12:30
Course Two - 3, 10, 17, 24 Jun, 1, 8 Jul  11:00 - 12:30
Course info Online
   
Training on Mindfulness:  Waiting list 
Techniques for Resting the Mind and Working with Distractions  
7, 14, 21, 28 May, 4, 11, 18, 25 Jun 08:30 - 09:30
Course info  Online  

 

Registration guidelines 

Interested participants are kindly asked to fill in the registration form and indicate the courses and corresponding dates when they are able to attend for such courses.   

If you are unable to attend (and have already registered), inform us by email as soon as possible. Late cancellations are only accepted if a valid reason is provided by the applicant. We will be unable to accommodate future training requests if our office receives more than one cancellation or for missing training without a valid reason.

Valid reasons for late cancellation or for missing training may include:

  • Illness
  • Unplanned leave of absence
  • Unplanned work deadlines 

The capacity for each training session is limited and therefore interested applicants are kindly advised to apply early. Acceptance to these sessions is subject to the approval of the Office for Human Resources Management & Development and the respective Directorate. Accepted candidates will receive an e-mail from our office with the course details confirming your attendance one week prior to the commencement of the training. 

Our office strives to ensure that all interested members of staff are accepted to these courses. It is highly recommended that you keep the selected training dates free since we will contact applicants one week prior to the commencement of the training.  

After attending our training sessions, you are highly encouraged to submit your feedback in the following evaluation form and propose ideas for training sessions which are useful for day-to-day work. Candidates who have successfully completed training will be awarded with a certificate. 


Last Updated 17 June 2021 at 13:46


https://www.um.edu.mt/hrmd/trainingdevelopment/calendar2021