University of Malta

UOM Main Page
Apply - Admissions 2016
Campus Map button

Head of Department 

Dr. Pierre-Sandre Farrugia  - Senior Lecturer

Academic Staff

Dr Noel Aquilina – Senior Lecture

Dr Sebastiano D’Amico - Lecturer

Prof. Alan Deidun – Associate Professor

Prof. Aldo Drago – Associate Professor

Prof. Raymond Ellul - Professor

Dr Anthony Galea – Lecturer

Dr Adam Gauci – Lecturer

Prof Aaron Micallef – Associate Professor

Prof. Alfred Micallef - Professor 

Prof Pauline Galea - Associate Professor 

Department Secretary:

Ms Janice Zerafa – Administrator I

Technical and Research Support Staff

Atmospheric and Climate Studies

Mr Tonio Caruana - Administrator II

Mr Martin Saliba - Scientific Officer

Ms Rebecca Muscat - Scientific Officer

Mr Marvic Grima - Scientific Officer

Ms Sarah Fenech - Research Support Officer II (Mobile Air Quality Lab)

Geophysics and Seismology:

Mr Emanuele Colica - Research Support Officer I

Dr Daniela Farrugia - Research Support Officer III


Physical Oceanography:
Ms Tiziana Micallef - Executive Officer

Ms Ioanna Thoma - Research Support Officer I

Ms Raisa Galea De Giovanni- Research Support Officer II

Ms Audrey Zammit - Research Support Officer II 

Mr Johann Galdies - Research Support Officer II 

Dr Gianfranco Calise - Research Support Officer III 


Marine Geology and Seafloor Surveying:

Dr Daniele Spatola - Research Support Officer II     

Yipeng Zhang - Research Support Officer III 

Dr Denis Cohen-Corticchiato - Research Support Officer IV                                                                          



Geoscience Seminar 8th February 2019

36th European Seismological Commission General Assembly
 The 36th General Assembly of the European Seismological Commission was hosted by the University of Malta, through the Department of Geosciences, and was held at the Mediterranean Conference Centre. 

Department of Geosciences featured in the British Council Voices magazine
Following the success by Dr Anthony Galea in the FameLab Malta competition, the Department of Geosciences at the Faculty of Science is featured in the British Council Voices magazine.

Winner of FameLab Malta’s competition 2018
Dr Anthony Galea, an academic at the Department of Geosciences is the winner of this year's FameLab Malta.

Winner of the National public speaking competition 2018
Dr Anthony Galea from the Physical Oceanography Research Group within the Department of Geosciences at the Faculty of Science, won this year’s National Public Speaking Competition.

Call for Research Support Officer with the Mobile Air Quality Laboratory
The University of Malta invites applications for a full-time Research Support Officer II/III in the Air Quality Laboratory of the Department of Geosciences within the Faculty of Science.

RSSD team visits Geoscience facilities in Gozo
Members of the Research Services Support Directorate (RSSD) recently accompanied members of the Department of Geosciences on a trip to Gozo.

Department of Geosciences in a number of major Interreg Italia-Malta projects
The Department of Geosciences has been highly successful in the number of projects approved under the current Interreg V-A Italia-Malta Operational Programme (2014-2020). 

20th annual ERVO meeting to be held in Malta
The Marine Geology and Seafloor Surveying group (Department of Geosciences) will be hosting the 20th annual ERVO (European Research Vessels Operators)´ group meeting at the University of Malta Campus in Valletta between the 12th and 14th June 2018.

ESC 2018
Valletta to host 36th General Assembly of the European Seismological Commission in 2018

Participation at AGU
Dr Sebastiano D’Amico and Ms Daniela Farrugia (Department of Geosciences) have participated in the American Geophysical Union (AGU) Fall Meeting held in San Francisco (USA) from 10th to 15th December 2016.

Outstanding Academic Title
The book "Earthquakes and their Impact on Society" has been selected by Choice magazine as"Outstanding Academic title" for 2016 

International Contribution
A CRG researcher is contributing to development of a new gas-phase-to-aerosol scheme in the state-of-the-art Regional Climate Model, RegCM4.

Department Transfer
As of 1 October 2015, the CRG has been transferred to the new Department of Geosciences.

Air Quality Mobile Laboratory
The acquisition of an air quality monitoring van has started a new research branch within the group.

Last Updated: 19 December 2019

Log In back to UoM Homepage