Statute and Institute Board

According to its statute  , the Institute of Earth Systems is governed by a Board which holds quarterly meetings to discuss the Institute's affairs, to formulate its policy, and to supervise its activities and administration.

The Institute Board

The Institute Board consists of academic staff members from the Institute as well as from other University departments, and also includes up to two elected representatives of the Institute's students.

Prof. Godfrey Baldacchino

Director of the Institute
Coordinator of the Division of Environmental Management and Planning
Prof. Louis F Cassar

Coordinator of the Division of Rural Sciences and Food Systems
Prof. Everaldo Attard

Head of the Euro-Mediterranean Centre on Insular Coastal Dynamics (ICoD)
Prof. Anton S Micallef

Council appointee
Ms Joyce Farrugia

Senate appointee
Dr Ing. John Charles Betts

Academic staff representatives
Dr Belinda Gambin
Dr Anthony Sacco

Scholars of repute
Prof. Juanito Camilleri
Prof. Alex Felice
Prof. Paul J Pace
Prof. Frank Ventura

Student representatives

Ms Nicole Agius and Mr Jeremy Bartolo were elected to be the two Student Representatives on the Board of the Institute of Earth Systems for a period of one year with effect from 15 November 2019. Details of the nominees and the votes  cast during the election held on 14 November 2019.

Board meeting dates

The Institute Board last met on 4 December 2019. The remaining meeting dates for the current academic year are 6 February, 26 May and 9 September 2020.

The Scientific Advisory Committee

The Institute also has a Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) composed of scholars of repute drawn from the local and international scientific community. SAC members play an advisory role in their areas of competence.

Dr Leonard Mizzi B.A. (Hons) (Malta), M.Sc. (CIHEAMMontpellier), Ph.D. (Reading) is Head of Unit R4, dealing with inter-institutional issues, within the Directorate-General for Agriculture & Rural Development of the European Commission. Before joining the European Commission, he was the Director of the Malta Business Bureau (MBB) in Brussels. Dr Mizzi is an agricultural economist with interests in agriculture and food security, food and nutrition policy, and the agrifood sector.

Prof. Stephen Morse B.S.c, M.Sc., Ph.D. (Reading), Ph.D. (Southampton) holds the Chair in Systems Analysis for Sustainability at the Centre for Environmental Strategy at the University of Surrey. He has a background in applied biological science, and has broad research and teaching interests spanning both the natural and social sciences.

Prof. Allan T. Williams B.Sc., Ph.D., Dip. Ed., C. Eng., C. Sci., MIMMM is Emeritus Professor at Swansea Metropolitan University and Senior Research Fellow at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David (UWTSD). His research interests include geology and geomorphology, with a special interest in coastal processes and beach management.